Help! Samsung SyncMaster 151s is dark!

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Help! Samsung SyncMaster 151s is dark!

Postby OneSpirit » Tue May 30, 2006 7:36 am

I've had this montior for only three years .... it's the samsung syncmaster 151s. I boot up the computer and I can barely see the web page.

Is the montior junk now or is there anything I can do?

Thank you for your time.
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Bolgan » Tue May 30, 2006 11:33 am

Blown bulb?
Bolgan
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 3:57 pm

Postby OneSpirit » Tue May 30, 2006 1:26 pm

Looks like the backlight is the problem .... the thing is .... can I get the part and replace it myself or does it have to go out? If it has to go out I don't think it will be worth fixing.

Can anyone help?

This is a LCD monitor by the way ....
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Roach412 » Tue May 30, 2006 1:34 pm

personally, i don't think it's worth fixing. you can get a similar 19" for a little over $200 at this point-in-time. why fix a 15" with a relatively expensive (and not gauranteed to work) replacement...when you can get a bigger, better monitor for not that much more?

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2716
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Postby OneSpirit » Tue May 30, 2006 2:44 pm

Roach412 wrote:personally, i don't think it's worth fixing. you can get a similar 19" for a little over $200 at this point-in-time. why fix a 15" with a relatively expensive (and not gauranteed to work) replacement...when you can get a bigger, better monitor for not that much more?

-Roach


Can't really afford a new monitor ....nor can I afford to have someone else fix it .... ..

However, I found these two site .... extremely helpful for someone with my problem.


Replacing a backlight



Great information ... it is definitely worth my while to fix it myself .... for less than $20

I found this too check it out.... it has a lot of good info as well .... still there is some question as whether it is the backlight or the invertor .... I can still see a dim image ... and it happen all of a sudden. Yesterday it was working fine .... today ...

I have a volt meter but I don't know how to check the volt on the invertor or how much volt there should be ...

anyone have any ideas?
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed May 31, 2006 6:32 am

The backlight is a fluorescent tube.. similar to ordinary household lights. It has a finite life-span. After so many hours, the cathodes become eroded to the point of no-fire status. Darkness prevails! Some models are easier than others to repair. Most likely, the backlight tube itself can be replaced and the inverter is fine. The inverters generally put out around 200 volts to initiate the "firing" of the tube, then wane back to around 50 volts or so during the plasma stage of light. They can give a nasty shock! But the current is generally less than 500 mA.
Use only the exact-same model of tube for replacement.
Let us know how you do.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20671
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Jun 01, 2006 8:51 am

Well I took my monitor apart .... had no problem finding the invertor, but finding/getting to the backlight is proving difficult. ... there are two strips of plastic on the top and bottom of the screen. There are connection wires that from each plastic strip that leads to the inverter, so I suppect there are possibly two backlights top and bottom.

I don't see how to get to the backlight .... I believe they are in those plastic housing along the top and bottom of the screen, but I'm not sure how to get them out yet.

The link I provide has great pictures on removing the inverter on a syncmaster, but nothing on changing the backlight on that model so far. The model they use in the backlight replacement guide is different from my unfortunately .... so that's where I'm at right now ...

I'm searching to find more infor on the syncmaster and how to get to the backlight.
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Jun 01, 2006 12:01 pm

Good news! .... I found the backlights and figure out how to get them out.

Using the diagram at the site link I posted I was able to get the monitor apart.

I had to take the metal part housing the inverter off, but I did not remove the main cable. I found two very small screws near the wires that hook up to the backlights. I removed those wires and was able to simply and carefully pull out the two backlights .... one at the top the other at the bottom.

Now all I need to do is figure out the correct replacement part. Any suggestions?

I'm going to check those links for parts and see what I come up with.
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Jun 01, 2006 4:41 pm

I need some help .... I'm a bit confused about this measuring method .... :!:

:arrow:check it out

Now ..... I can see the metal ends on the lamp without removing the rubber ends .... if I can see the metal ends of the lamp why would I want to include one of the rubber ends in my measurement?

When I measure the bulb from end to end I get a little more than 305mm.

I'm cofused :o
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Karlsweldt » Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:17 am

Those rubber end caps serve as shock absorbers and temperature "allowances" for expansion/shrinkage. That is why they note to mention the length of the lamp, less the rubber end caps. The length of the replacement tube(s) will dictate how well the entire screen is illuminated. Too short, and there may be shadows at the sides. Too long and it will not fit the space designed for it. More or less, those CCFL tubes are close cousins to neon tubes.. with fluorescent coatings on the inside to emit a natural white light. No impurities in the gas to create color.. just the UV plasma.
The tubes should have markings on them for reference, very near the end.. like standard fluorescent lamps.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20671
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Next

Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron