The Mother Board
Can Number of cores be identified in BIOS

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> BIOS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ulhas
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 6:47 am    Post subject: Can Number of cores be identified in BIOS Reply with quote

I am under procedure to buy a Quad Core AMD cpu.
As a general query

Is it possible to get the exact number of cores (not Hyper threading) on CPU just by reading the BIOS settings.

Does any motherboard has this feature ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AMD does not use hyperthreading in that line of CPUs. They start to use something similar in their newer lines of products:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/5831/amd-trinity-review-a10-4600m-a-new-hope
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
ulhas
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 05 Oct 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello There

Thank you for the reply . my query is specifically for knowing about cores on AMD cpu.


Is it possible to know number of cores on the given cpu using just BIOS

We get all the info once inside OS but just reading the BIOS can i know about
single/dual/ quad etc. cores of the cpu.

let it be intel / amd cpu no matter what . Specifically does any MOBO/ bios company gives this feature " To know number of cores in BIOS"

thanks
kanade
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once the bios identifies what processor is mounted it will show how many cores it has. As far as I know most (if not, all) bioses do this.
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19017
Location: 07438

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bring up the 'Task Manager' and click on the "performance" tab to note the number of true and virtual cores in operation for the CPU.
The only time you may note how many CPU cores there are otherwise, is from the first splash screen when starting up. There, the video type and memory is noted, along with other prominent system info.
_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> BIOS All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group