Graphic Cards Statistics

Not sure what to buy? Ask here for some free advice.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby HollowPoint69 » Thu Nov 25, 2004 8:25 pm

I noticed something while looking at the Graphics Cards.

The X800SE has the same core (R420) as the X800XT-PE. Does that mean it;s possible to softmod it with an X800XT-PE BIOS, as long as you have adequate cooling? The 6800 also has the same core as the 6800 Ultra Extreme, so isn't it possible to softmod the 6800 to 6800 Ultra Extreme levels?

By the way, nice site man, very useful.
HollowPoint69
 

Postby Sabrewings » Thu Nov 25, 2004 8:33 pm

HollowPoint69 wrote:I noticed something while looking at the Graphics Cards.

The X800SE has the same core (R420) as the X800XT-PE. Does that mean it;s possible to softmod it with an X800XT-PE BIOS, as long as you have adequate cooling?


If the disabled pipelines actually work, then its possible. But, one reason those cores are labeled as the X800SE is because some of the pipes might not be working stable, hence why they're shut down.
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA

Postby HollowPoint69 » Thu Nov 25, 2004 8:35 pm

How about the 6800?
HollowPoint69
 

Postby Sabrewings » Thu Nov 25, 2004 8:40 pm

HollowPoint69 wrote:How about the 6800?


Same principle. That's the benefit of making different models with the same core. You can take the cores that don't work entirely, shut down the ailing pipes (could be one screwed, could be three), and you still make money off it.
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA

Postby hiostu » Thu Nov 25, 2004 11:45 pm

Hey guys, it's nice to see that you like the overview.

Did you know you can also look at some additional information of the card by clicking on it's name. You will get some feature info, dx version, etc.

You can also post comments on the card and rate it. This way you can help others with your experiences of a card.
hiostu
 

Postby HollowPoint69 » Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:12 am

Then how could one test to see if the pipelines are functional, but just disabled then?
HollowPoint69
 

Postby PolarMan » Wed Dec 29, 2004 2:55 am

Sorry to revive such an old thread, but I noticed an increased number of members to our site because of the referrals coming from this thread.

I am one of the creators of the overview, however, lately progress has slowed due to personal reasons. Props to Hiostu for doing the coding. :P

EDIT: Just noticed that this was sticked. My mistake, haha.
PolarMan
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 10:34 pm
Location: California

Postby colinJohn » Wed Dec 29, 2004 3:10 am

I am one of the creators of the overview


great piece of work, well done, please keep on with it :-)
"that's some catch that Catch 22"
"It's the best that there is"

Image
colinJohn
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3430
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 12:34 pm
Location: UK

Postby Sabrewings » Wed Dec 29, 2004 6:30 am

It's a great piece of work Polar. You guys are doing great.
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA

Postby zerozero » Sun Jan 16, 2005 2:46 pm

Getting a 404 and a 403 on this site...
zerozero
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 9:39 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

PreviousNext

Return to Recommendations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest