Damn I've been making points like mad past couple days, why?

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby len444 » Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:59 pm

regarding the speed advantage- they must be handing out some 900 series wu's that are high point gromacs, and can be crunched faster. having the 3.25 beta client helps keep the -forceasm flag active, so your certain to get the ~20% performance increase for each wu crunched. the -advmethods flag is probably helping you to get hooked up w/ a specific server that is handing out those wu's. if you look at the current projects, and then check to the right side of the server stats page, you'll see adv which hooks you up w/ those servers. so far, -advmethods = gromacs, which can be crunched faster than tinker due to some coding advantages (like assembly code= sse optimizations).
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Postby len444 » Sat Oct 04, 2003 11:43 am

gamepyrate, look up the team at www.statsman.info and you'll see that you just handed in a 65 point wu, which is more than likely a 900 series wu. seems that once you dial in to a specific server, you'll get that server for a while.

edit: appears that multiple wu's handed in at the same time, will get registered in the same time period.
Last edited by len444 on Sat Oct 04, 2003 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Postby joshvee » Sat Oct 04, 2003 11:46 am

Len444 wrote:seems that once you dial in to a specific server, you'll get that server for a while.


Thats exactly what I noticed :)
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Postby Tulatin » Sat Oct 04, 2003 11:53 am

this means i'll be getting the 70-point tinkers for a while...
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby len444 » Sat Oct 04, 2003 12:16 pm

Tulatin wrote:this means i'll be getting the 70-point tinkers for a while...


i found that if i stopped the client, and then deleted config, queue.dat, work folder, and fahcore_65.exe, and then redid the config w/ the -forceasm, and -advmethods flags it would hook up w/ a server giving out gromacs wu's.

yeah, so we won't see you posting points for a while then :?:
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Tulatin » Sat Oct 04, 2003 12:19 pm

Actually, i tried that. IT still gives them to me... Oh well... from 140/400 i trek on.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby gamepyrate » Sat Oct 04, 2003 3:27 pm

Well sodsm live, here is my full system specs:
Shuttle AK37GT/R KT400 board
Athlon XP 2400+
256mb of Kingmax RAM, 256mb of I can't remember, like Tiny or something RAM.
GeForce1 w/ 32mb SDR
Two 80gig 8mb cache WD's on RAID
One Quantum 40gig 2mb cache
That's about it I guess.
gamepyrate
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1359
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 12:00 am

Postby len444 » Sun Oct 05, 2003 11:34 am

gamepyrate wrote: Also my other computer is a Gateway AMD Athlon 800mhz w/ 256mb SDR Ram, run also 23/7.


gamepyrate, can you look up in the fahlog.txt files to see what is stated when the above comp first starts a wu? i'm curious if it states "3dnow!" or "sse speed boost ok"? just wondering if there are sse instruction sets on that particular cpu?
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Postby gamepyrate » Sun Oct 05, 2003 2:46 pm

It only has 3dNow boost enabled, not SSE stated anywhere in the log..
gamepyrate
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1359
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 12:00 am

Postby len444 » Sun Oct 05, 2003 3:24 pm

ok, this is what people say at fah forums regarding assembly codes on athlon cpus. they are saying sse assembly codes start w/ the palomino cpu's (1500+ and higher), and 3dnow starts w/ the athlon cpu's (not sure about the k6III cpu's- i read that there are some unused forerunner optimizations on the k6-III cpu's). then there are 3dnow! and 3dnow!+ optimizations, so i can be confusing. anyway, 3dnow! must help speed things up somewhat.
just exactly where sse optimizations appear on athlon cpu's is still not 100% known, but so far it can be assumed to be w/ the athlon xp cpu's for now.

btw, how much cache is on the 800mhz athlon? just wondering if it happens to be an athlon classic w/ 512kb cache?

btw, thanks for taking the time out to check the fahlog 8)
Last edited by len444 on Sun Oct 05, 2003 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

PreviousNext

Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest