The Mother Board
2 F@H clients on 1 machine
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 18, 19, 20  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboards.org Folding Team
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 3:10 pm    Post subject: 2 F@H clients on 1 machine Reply with quote

Is anyone succesfully running 2 F@H clients at the same time on a P4c hyperthreading machine? I still cant get mine to work.

If so how did you do it? (please give detail) and what did it do to the temps?

Please reply only if you've actualy done it. I know the theory behind it but it just wont work.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you tried with 2 seperate install localtions, different processor addinities for the graphical model or machine numbers for the console model?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36705
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

translation: addinities = identities
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, that's what i meant. I really should watch my typing when doing technical advice and suggestions no? (stupid HP A2840B keyboard on loaner machine... types slow, and keys take quite a bit of effort to hit...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36705
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what's wrong with hooking up your own keyboard to that machine?
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a very odd issue with this board that whenver i hook up my usb keybaord and mouse, it decided sto start bluescreening... too lazy to troubleshoot this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
Southwind25
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree


Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 7339
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried to set up the type rate in the bios?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

don't really remember. the reason it seems slow (well actually the cursor does seem sluggish) is that these key soffer a LOT of resistance... so whereas before where i'd jsut tap them, now i've got to really push down...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 22 Nov 1999
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Is anyone succesfully running 2 F@H clients at the same time on a P4c hyperthreading machine?


http://www.maximumpc.com/features/feature_2003-06-10.html

Quote:
b) Two folds are better than one (Difficulty: Advanced)
For those lucky users with dual-processor machines or rigs with hyperthreaded P4s, you can run two instances of the Console version simultaneously. It's rather involved, but well worth it to see both of your CPUs (or both of your virtual CPUs) being utilized to their fullest. These instructions assume you are running Win2K Pro or XP Pro.

1) First, create two separate directories and dump FAH3Console.exe in each one.

2) Then, you're going to have to make a shortcut to each FAH3Console.exe. Paste the Shortcuts into the C:Documents and SettingsAll UsersStart MenuProgramsStartup folder so that both FAH consoles will startup every time the system boots up.

3) Right click on each shortcut you've created. You'll see the "Target" line: "C:Program Filesetc.etc.FAH3Console.exe"

Now, you MUST add the -local flag, if you haven't already done so here. Remember to add the -local flag for each shortcut. It's also a good idea to add -advmethods and -forceasm.

4) Now, you're almost set. Double click on one of the shortcuts you created. The first time you do, you'll be asked to configure FAH. Aside from your username and Team No. (select team No. 11108 for Team MPC), one of the configuration options is to set the Machine ID for the first FAH3Console.exe program to "1" (when you get to the point where we run the second FAH3Console.exe, you'll need to set the second one's Machine ID to "2").

5) Now that one instance of FAH is up and running, go into your task manager and hit the "processes" tab. You'll see FAH3Console.exe there. Right click on it and choose "Set Affinity" and set it for CPU 0 only (uncheck CPU 1). You'll also see FAHCore_xx.exe running. Set that for CPU 0 too.

6) Now you're ready to run the second console (again, launch it by clicking on your second created shortcut). When you configure it, set it for a different machine ID ("2").

7) In take manager, you'll set the Affinity for your second instance of FAH3Console.exe for CPU 1. Now, this will be tricky as you'll see two FAH3Console.exe's running. You can check which one is the first one by checking the affinity. The new one will have both CPU 0 and 1 checked, while the first one was just set to CPU 0.

8 ) Do the same thing with the second FAHCore_xx.exe. Set it to CPU 1 only.

9) Now you're running two instances of FAH, and they are taking full advantage of your processors.

10) As long as you don't close out the Console programs, they'll remember their affinity. If you close them, or restart or reboot your computer, you'll need to go back and set the affinity again.



Not sure that I should be helping you do this but ah what the heck. lol



Aussie
_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aussie wrote:



Not sure that I should be helping you do this but ah what the heck. lol



Aussie


What a lad lachen
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboards.org Folding Team All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 18, 19, 20  Next
Page 1 of 20

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group