The Mother Board
absolute speed
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboards.org Folding Team
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CAIN
Green Belt
Green Belt


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 222
Location: Owasso, OK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:04 pm    Post subject: absolute speed Reply with quote

This post may have been posted before but i dont know where what r the absolute fastest flags to set to make use of this water cooled processing machine with 1 gig of ddr 400
_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 08 Nov 2001
Posts: 3987

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what are your system spec's?

ok, i see ddr 400, but no mention of mb, and cpu, but it's safe to assume it's quite new. 3.25 beta console, and just use the flags as per the team page guide. one consideration is to specify FAH WU preference under advanced config options, and 100%cpu (windows version). i use low priority setting. accept other defaults, and let it crunch away. use ctrl -c to close the console version correctly (or pause then quit the graphical version).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CAIN
Green Belt
Green Belt


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 222
Location: Owasso, OK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2003 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well its a dragon ultra and its got a 2.1 Ghz proc
_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
gryphyn
Initiate
Initiate


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After setting your F@H on desktop open properties and on the target line insert -advmethods -forceasm. it should look like this when done "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winfah.exe" -forceasm -advmethods
Make sure you have a space before each hyphen in it.

G
_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 08 Nov 2001
Posts: 3987

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gryphyn wrote:
After setting your F@H on desktop open properties and on the target line insert -advmethods -forceasm. it should look like this when done "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winfah.exe" -forceasm -advmethods
Make sure you have a space before each hyphen in it.

G


pretty sure ...winfah.exe is the 3.24 version, which only applies forceasm on the first WU, and not the successive WU's. 3.25 beta has been reworked to keep -forceasm active. -forceasm "flag" applies sse speed boost, by using the sse optimizations on the cpu. might be as much as a 20% speed boost (provided sse is ion the cpu). 3.25 beta link is at bottom of downloads page. but adding the flags will be exactly as gryphen states. just a heads up regarding how the 3.25 beta is better than 3.24 version.

copy of changelog:
Quote:
Folding@Home 3.25 beta
May 7, 2003

----------------------------------------------------------------------
THIS BETA WILL NOT EXPIRE.

----------------------------------------------------------------------
RECENT CHANGES (Client) - from 3.24 Release:


3.25 beta (unmarked)
--------------------
- If -forceasm is used, then on every execution of the core until the
client is restarted, SSE optimizations will be used if possible (if
the chip is an AMD chip, then be default, without the flag, it would
not be chosen over 3DNow). Prior to this client, this effect would have
held true only for the first work unit run after starting the client.


beta page:
http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/beta/beta.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gryphyn wrote:
After setting your F@H on desktop open properties and on the target line insert -advmethods -forceasm. it should look like this when done "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winfah.exe" -forceasm -advmethods
Make sure you have a space before each hyphen in it.

G



This is exactly what I do on my 1.5gig + comps and I set my client type to "folding@home".....but one more point. I set the Core priority to "slightly higher".

with my less than 1.5gig comps I set my client type to "Genome at home" or "no preferance"....I find that this way it seems to download 100 framers and usualy 50 points (score) hey I must be doing something right look at my average..... score 1834....WUs 41 = 44.7 points per WU

PS I'm running 3.25 beta and Windows XP pro on all my machines even the 233 MHZ P2
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CAIN
Green Belt
Green Belt


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 222
Location: Owasso, OK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

next time im over at his place and his girl friend says "ok sure he can come over" LOL i'll do that instead


right now hes just got 3.24 graphical running in the back ground and i presume it will take care of the sending and recieveing of the WU's without my presence
_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 08 Nov 2001
Posts: 3987

PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

joshvee wrote:
PS I'm running 3.25 beta and Windows XP pro on all my machines even the 233 MHZ P2


joshvee, i'm curious as to how the pII 233mhz comp is holding up? are you running GAH preference, or just letting it do FAH WU's?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CAIN
Green Belt
Green Belt


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 222
Location: Owasso, OK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh put this on my moms machine too so now i got a superfast machine at my friends house folding and my moms machine folding weinen i wish i had internet i wish my job haddnt screwed me over so that i would have had internet by now evil
_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not just use freebies liek the aol trials to connect when you need to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboards.org Folding Team All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group