The Mother Board
Don't log off!!!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboards.org Folding Team
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
son0rous
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 2575

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe they made some minor tweaks to how it is displayed, the 100/400 shows the frames and when it says writing to disk it is doing sort of a backup so when you restart it knows where it left off
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 08 Nov 2001
Posts: 3987

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Default_Dave wrote:
got a question too...i used to see the "frame 01...02...03...ect" in the console version...now i get the Step 01 "writing to hd" (or whatever it says) with the 100 out of 400 and so on ... no more frame references.

what's the deal? is this from the -advmethods or -forceasm ? or is it cuase of the -local switch? just curious...all's running.


frames= Tinker WU, and steps= Gromacs WU. -advmethods flag will get a higher concentration of gromacs wu's, and -forceasm will give an extra sse boost (might equal 20% faster) specific to gromacs WU's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

len444 wrote:
-forceasm will give an extra sse boost (might equal 20% faster) specific to gromacs WU's.

NOw applies to tinker work units, care of Beta 3.25
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
Ripshod
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 708
Location: Yorkshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NTFS. I know, but it suits my needs better. You thinking this is the cause?
_________________
CALL &BD19 (If you need to ask you don't need to know)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 08 Nov 2001
Posts: 3987

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ripshod wrote:
NTFS. I know, but it suits my needs better. You thinking this is the cause?


no, not ntfs. i was contemplating if you had a large fat32 partition (over 32gig), and was loosing stability due to cluster size being too large for the data being written to it. but this doesn't appear to be the case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 08 Nov 2001
Posts: 3987

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tulatin wrote:
len444 wrote:
-forceasm will give an extra sse boost (might equal 20% faster) specific to gromacs WU's.

NOw applies to tinker work units, care of Beta 3.25


according to this reply at FAH forum, Tinker isn't using sse instruction sets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ripshod
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 708
Location: Yorkshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just completed my first WU. #349 in just under 26hrs. Must have been a stinker cos I've just gone to #22 in the team rankings.

Good to be working now. lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Ripshod
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 708
Location: Yorkshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't make any sense not to optimise some code for SSE and SSE2 instructions seeing as the command line version (3.25) has optimisations for 3DNOW! Or could I be wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 22 Aug 2001
Posts: 3707
Location: Great Beer Zone

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's nice ripshod . roll away those wu's wink
_________________
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 08 Nov 2001
Posts: 3987

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ripshod wrote:
It doesn't make any sense not to optimise some code for SSE and SSE2 instructions seeing as the command line version (3.25) has optimisations for 3DNOW! Or could I be wrong?


i didn't right the code. tinker doesn't use sse, and gromacs does. tinker is supposed to be very easy to manipulate for the task at hand. gromacs are nice as they are written for speed.

btw, if you see 3dnow! stated in the console when you first start it up, you more than likely have a gromacs WU, which means that you should try and add the -forceasm flag. that will show "extra sse boost ok". just be sure to use ctrl -c to close the console properly (if and when you do).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboards.org Folding Team All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 4 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group