The Mother Board
New mb.org F@H site
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboards.org Folding Team
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 08 Nov 2001
Posts: 3987

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

miki02131 wrote:
What is the best option for the "Disable highly Optimized Assembly code" under advanced option? Disable or enable?


accept the default, which is no (console version).

does the graphical client use check boxes (seems so, esp. given smurf pimps reply)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In this one it's a drop down menu, and len - advertise our site will you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
miki02131
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 2161
Location: Newport, Rhode Island USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I downloaded the graphical client software for windows. I installed it on windows 2000. I launch the program, configure it but it seems to be doing nothing. When I try to open the console, I get an error. This is what I got from the error log. Take a look and let me know what could be wrong. This was supposed to be as easy as installing and running a program.

[18:11:00] - Ask before connecting: No
[18:11:00] - Use IE connection settings: Yes
[18:11:00] - User name: Miki Rodriguez (Team 33258)
[18:11:00] - User ID not found locally
[18:11:00] + Requesting User ID from server
[18:11:07] - Machine ID: 1
[18:11:07]
[18:11:07] Work directory not found. Creating...
[18:11:07] Could not open work queue, generating new queue...
[18:11:07] Initialization complete
[18:11:07] + Benchmarking ...
[18:11:11] + Attempting to get work packet
[18:11:11] - Connecting to assignment server
[18:11:12] - Successful: assigned to (171.64.122.110).
[18:11:12] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[18:11:12] Loaded queue successfully.
[18:11:18] + Closed connections
[18:11:18]
[18:11:18] + Processing work unit
[18:11:18] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
[18:11:18] Core not found.
[18:11:18] - Core is not present or corrupted.
[18:11:18] - Attempting to download new core...
[18:11:18] + Downloading new core: FahCore_78.exe
_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
son0rous
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 2575

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i dont see the problem? when you download the console it doesnt come with the core like the graphical one does, so it downloads it itself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miki02131
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 2161
Location: Newport, Rhode Island USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. I launch the program which minimizes to the task bar. Then, I right click the icon from the task bar, when I pass the mouse over the icon in the task bar, I got this tool tip: f@h: Working(0/250)

Now whan I navigate to display, the program fail to display a screen, with the following fah.exe has generated an error.
_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
son0rous
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 2575

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try redownloading and installing it, your md5sums could be off
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miki02131
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 2161
Location: Newport, Rhode Island USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys. I found the problem. I installed the program on two of my systems and might add it to more later.
_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
son0rous
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 2575

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what was the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

interesting bit

on server 2003 with a crappy S3 PCI card that doesn't OpenGL very well, the client will crash if you try to view the simulation. It will crunch the WUs though and give the statistics in the logfile.

I may try later on with a decent graphics card (currently sitting in another testbox).
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
miki02131
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 2161
Location: Newport, Rhode Island USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like evasive said the display problem was with the graphic card on my server. However, when I install it on more powerful system it seems to display smoothly.

I have to emphasize though that the program was still running on the server. The problem was only with the display. So even if the simulation can't be displayed on a system, the program can still run perfectly in the background. So keep folding even without display.
_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258


Last edited by miki02131 on Sun Aug 24, 2003 6:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboards.org Folding Team All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 9 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group