Commonly overlooked things READ FIRST BEFORE BUYING

Not sure what to buy? Ask here for some free advice.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby williamm21 » Sat Apr 19, 2003 4:27 am

Not to pull your tail, but how does the sis chipsets compare to the kt400.
williamm21
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Oklahoma

Postby williamm21 » Sat Apr 19, 2003 4:49 am

Second try first not seen if its there sorry. If the choice was of sis Chipset (745) or KT400 which would you prefer.
williamm21
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Oklahoma

Postby Valour » Sat Apr 19, 2003 12:54 pm

williamm21 wrote:Second try first not seen if its there sorry. If the choice was of sis Chipset (745) or KT400 which would you prefer.


I only tested one SiS 745 board. The first one was damaged during shipping so I sent it back; the second one would crash during 3Dmark. Tried different drivers, BIOS options, and two new sticks of Corsair RAM and nothing seemed to solve the problem. The memory bandwidth test was nothing to write home to mom about -- 2.1GB/sec. All in all, it wasn't too impressive and there aren't that many boards out there that use this chipset.

-Jem
"The proverb says that Providence protects children and idiots. This is really true. I know because I have tested it." -Mark Twain

I wrote this book: www.herotale.com
And here's the next one: www.emeraldblackbird.com
Valour
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 6:24 pm
Location: Rochester, NY USA

Postby jansen00 » Tue Apr 22, 2003 2:40 pm

hi valour,

do you have any opinion or suggestion for dual xeon motherboard (server). i mean you were point out about supermicro and intel, do you have any idea what the model number. i searched around and found there are a few model number using E7501 chipset.

btw..both of those brands and Intel are pretty expensive tho :( , do you think its worth it the price, compare to AMD. (the price for motherboard and processor both twice more expensive then AMD system).

thanks man.

sincerely,
Jan
jansen00
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: los angeles

hyper-treading

Postby jansen00 » Tue Apr 22, 2003 2:46 pm

oh one more thing, this is about Hyper-Threaded. is hyper-treading only on xeon 3.06GHz and up ? how bout the 2.0Ghz on motherboard that useintel E7501 chipset..

thanks
Jan
jansen00
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: los angeles

Postby Valour » Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:10 pm

Some good Supermicro E7505 boards:

X5DA8
X5DAE
X5DAL-G (can fit into a normal ATX case)

The primary difference between E7505 and E7501 is hardware support. E7501 boards generally only support "server only" hardware (like PCI-X for instance) and the E7505 boards will usually support both desktop and "server only" hardware to a limited extent.

All P4 Xeon processors in production are HT-capable, from the 2.4 to the 3.06. The only 533FSB Northwood P4 (the desktop socket478 CPU) that is HT-capable is the 3.06; all of the 800FSB P4 processors are HT-capable. No other CPUs support Hyper-Threading Technology.

-Jem
"The proverb says that Providence protects children and idiots. This is really true. I know because I have tested it." -Mark Twain

I wrote this book: www.herotale.com
And here's the next one: www.emeraldblackbird.com
Valour
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 6:24 pm
Location: Rochester, NY USA

Are all P4 533 FSB 3.06 CPUs HT enabled?

Postby oolong » Mon Apr 28, 2003 7:26 pm

I found some online that say they are, and some that aren't. Are you saying that any 533 Mhz FSB 3.06 is HT enabled?
yie ar kung fu
oolong
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:21 pm

Re: Are all P4 533 FSB 3.06 CPUs HT enabled?

Postby Valour » Mon Apr 28, 2003 11:53 pm

oolong wrote:I found some online that say they are, and some that aren't. Are you saying that any 533 Mhz FSB 3.06 is HT enabled?


All P4 3.06ghz CPUs have HT Technology built in.

-Jem
"The proverb says that Providence protects children and idiots. This is really true. I know because I have tested it." -Mark Twain

I wrote this book: www.herotale.com
And here's the next one: www.emeraldblackbird.com
Valour
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 6:24 pm
Location: Rochester, NY USA

Postby Duster_76 » Mon Aug 04, 2003 4:58 am

Great topic Valour! I'm agree with you and all that you said is what I say myself to my friends. I'm agree that the better thing to do to have an "innexpensive" and powerful system is to update it often (don't buy newest,"up to date" parts...to expensive...buy 1 or 2 level under). You already have a compu? (about 1 or 2 years) A lots of parts are still good. So, you don't have to pay 1000$ (or more) to buy a brand new computer. And if you wait to many years and wait to buy a brand new compu, it will cost you 1000$ + every 4-5 years and during this time, you will not have a powerful computer. So, consider to buy for 100$ to 200$ every years and you will always have a good, powerful computer and it will cost less (or the same price but you will have, at every moment, a good computer) than if you changed it just 5 years later.

Personnaly, I buy for about 200$/years of parts.

This is the first specs of my computer... and the changes iI have done on it.

I bought it less than 2 years ago (approximetly 21 months)

AMD T-Bird 1.4 ghz
AOpen (VIA KT266) motherboard
256 meg DDR 266 mhz
CD-ROM 52X
Sony CD-RW 16x
SB Live 5.1 sound card
GeForce 2 (don't remember the model) 32 meg video card
20g 5400 rpm HDD
250 watts Power supply
17 inches Samsung Syncmaster 753df monitor

Since this config, I often improved my computer...

Changed CPU to a XP 2000+
BIOS flashing (the board doesn't support this CPU at first time)
Changed the HDD to a 40g 7200 rpm
Changed (again!) the HDD to a 60g 7200 rpm
Changed Video Card to a GeForce 4 MX 420 64 meg TV-OUT
Changed CD-RW to a Mistsumi 52x
Changed the power supply to a 300 watts
Changed (again) the power supply to a 420 watts
Bought a WD 80g 7200 rpm 8 meg buffer HDD (kept the 60g)
Bought a portable rack (and slots) to put my 60g HDD in
Bought another 256 meg DDR 266 (512 meg now)
Changed my 3-wheels mouse to a Microsoft optical mouse
And bought some gadget like webcam, microphone, etc...


That did not cost me too expensive 'cause I sold immediatly all the changed parts to my friends or people who have cheaper parts.
Now, this month, I'll changed my mother board, CPU , video card and memory to a MSI K7N2 Delta-L (probably) motherboard, XP 2500+ barton CPU, GeForce FX 5200 128 meg TV-OUT video card and 512 meg DDR 400 mhz memory.

And my old parts are already sold to one of my friends (he only has a P-II 333 mhz!)

I know that I don't have (and will not have) an UP TO DATE computer but it works fine, is enough powerful and don't cost a lot.

So, consider this before building (or buy) a brand new computer
Duster_76
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 3:20 am

Postby gnelso » Sun Aug 31, 2003 3:51 pm

I just read this and must say I have learned a little more about some of options and choices to consider when building a pc. I look forward to using this forum when I build my next monster.
\_ 8) _/
gnelso
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 9:05 pm
Location: Lebanon, Oregon

PreviousNext

Return to Recommendations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest