New build, recommendations?

Not sure what to buy? Ask here for some free advice.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

New build, recommendations?

Postby imorgan » Sat Aug 10, 2013 4:46 am

Hello All.

I'm looking to upgrade my current build which is starting to show its age and would like some recommendations as I've been out of the loop for a few years are there now a ridiculous amount of choice that I'm a little lost amongst the reviews.

Current build:

CPU - AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition
Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P
RAM - 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600Mhz
Graphics - 512MB XFX ATI HD 4770
PSU - 750W TX Corsair PSU
OS - Vista 32Bit

I'll be keeping the PSU and tower the same but the rest will be upgraded, especially vista which has been a pig, but I got it on the cheap.

I work in the design industry and do use CAD and graphic software quite a bit, the 4770 has held it's own for the stuff I do at home but for gaming it is starting to struggle.

I'm looking for a slightly lower then top end build so really don't want to spend any more then £600 on the new components.

Any recommendations on good components that won't break the bank?
imorgan
Initiate
Initiate

Postby Mr T » Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:10 am

PSU, RAM and video card ok....

But if you wish to update the video card, an ATI 7770 is a good mid range cards.

If you do CAD, you may want to look at Intel, but it is expensive.. So if you stay on AMD, get an FX-8320 - fast 8 core CPU, I bought one for video encoding and was so impressed bought another one for sister machine..
Board wise look at the 970 or 990 AMD chipset.. If you had no issues with Gigabyte, they are pretty good. ASRock is very good too as are the more expensive ASUS (I have two ASRock 870 Extremes R2 and an ASUS M5A99 Evo, rock solid).
As for the operating system, ignore all the hype and also the moaning, Windows8 is OK.. As good if not quicker than 7, just takes a bit of getting used to, but really does the job..