The Mother Board
Raid 1 Config
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

under boot tab, and boot device priority, what happens when you hit the different buttons there? do you see a list of devices to boot from?
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

getting back to the bios update thing,
http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=P5Q+PRO&os=29
you may want to update your bios as it may give you more choices to boot different things. the latest is 2101 from may 2009.
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

seems the SI controller has some instruction coming from the "tools" tab.
under drive xpert control... what is the condition you see there, and what if you change the settings?

i admit it is weird, i never like asus...
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vic_salve
Initiate
Initiate


Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 89
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, with drive containing OS connected to silicon image controller and two new drives connected to Intel controller, I can boot as long as the storage configuration is set on IDE. When I change this to RAID and then go to boot setup. I see all drives, but they are listed as RAID. This includes drive that is connected to silicon image controller.

Under tools....express gate is disabled.

Going to work on updating BIOS


Last edited by vic_salve on Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:59 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

on the main page, under system configuration, you should see what version bios you have.
also on the main page, when intel controller is in ide mode, do you see the boot drive listed as one of those six drives headings there?
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vic_salve
Initiate
Initiate


Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 89
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BIOS ver 0602

And yes, the boot drive is listed last under SATA_E1

By the way I just noticed that this motherboard is a P5Q PRO Turbo.......not just P5Q PRO

Sorry about that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vic_salve
Initiate
Initiate


Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 89
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finished updating BIOS, Everything looks the same And same issues still apply.

I did notice when configuration was in RAID when entering Intel matrix storage manager there were 3 drives listed and the drive containing the OS is one of them. With this drive being physically connected to the SI controller I wouldn't think it should be listed there, but there she be!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well there are differences, that has a jmicron pata/esata controller instead of the marvell ide controller.
but the drive xpert thing is still there. have you messed with those settings?
if there is no way to get the SI controller to be a bootable device while the intel controller is in raid mode, then you are going to have to get the os booting off the intel controller, and i think evasive was pointing to that earlier.
it's just incredible that there is no way to boot off the Si controller, though... makes no sense, but that's asus for ya.
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you absolutely sure you are attached to the non-intel controller ports? what if you move them around?
i haven't dl'd the turbo manual yet, but hopefuolly later i can dig into it some... i'd suggest you fool around on that "tools" menu to see what effect that has on the SI controller state.

or if you have ghosting skills, you can ghost to a pata drive, then boot to that, and turn the intel controoler to raid mode, then install your riad driver, then ghost back to the boot drive on the raid controller.
or find a way to get the raid driver installed on your current boot drive somehow, which i think evasive was hinting at.
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vic_salve
Initiate
Initiate


Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 89
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yea, I'm connected to the SI controller. I've checked that several times. It's even a different color. I checked it again just to make sure I'm not going to look like a (insert favorite doofus moniker here).

As for ghosting, have never tried that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group