The Mother Board
WinXP dead install or dead HDD?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

before you go there, please run this:
http://www.majorgeeks.com/MBRCheck_d7076.html

I have a funky feeling about this...
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
rascard2007
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap


Joined: 12 Jun 2007
Posts: 421
Location: Havana, Cuba

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can take a look at www.hddguru.com, there are some toolt to deal with HDD´s and some good info also.
_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldPhatDad
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 681
Location: Some backwater in the Orion Arm

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

evasive wrote:
before you go there, please run this:
http://www.majorgeeks.com/MBRCheck_d7076.html

I have a funky feeling about this...


Ran it: 'Windows XP MBR code detected' reported in green lettering.

Is there something further I need to do with the SHA1 number that was reported?
_________________
Antec Nine Hundred
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.6 Ghz
Gigabyte P35 DS3L
Mushkin Redlines 2 x2GB kit
EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896 MB
WD 250 GB SATA2
Seagate 160 GB SATA
WD 500 GB SATA2
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
PC P&C Silencer 750W
Windows XP SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you still experiencing that you cannot get to the repair section on your xp install disc?
if somehow you can get that repair section to show up, you could goto command prompt and do a "fixmbr" or "fixboot", maybe?

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/bootcons_fixmbr.mspx?mfr=true

and possibly "diskpart" could help by activating the c drive partition.

but if you don't see the repair option anywhere, that is weird. must have something to do with how your sata controller is set up. maybe you have to load an "f6" driver to get the drive to show up, thereby giving you repair option? is the xp install disc you are using included to have sp3 fixes, or might it be an original no-sp, or sp1, sp1a, sp2 disc?
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OldPhatDad wrote:
evasive wrote:
before you go there, please run this:
http://www.majorgeeks.com/MBRCheck_d7076.html

I have a funky feeling about this...


Ran it: 'Windows XP MBR code detected' reported in green lettering.

Is there something further I need to do with the SHA1 number that was reported?


Nope. It's fine.
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
rascard2007
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap


Joined: 12 Jun 2007
Posts: 421
Location: Havana, Cuba

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try a look at:

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/repair_install_warning.htm

and here:

http://www.techrepublic.com/article/10-things-you-can-do-when-windows-xp-wont-boot/6031733
_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldPhatDad
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 681
Location: Some backwater in the Orion Arm

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bdub wrote:
.

but if you don't see the repair option anywhere, that is weird. must have something to do with how your sata controller is set up. maybe you have to load an "f6" driver to get the drive to show up, thereby giving you repair option? is the xp install disc you are using included to have sp3 fixes, or might it be an original no-sp, or sp1, sp1a, sp2 disc?


I've tried both my original disc, which is SP 1a, and a slipstreamed disc that has SP2 integrated into it.

I can't try the F6 option, as I have no floppy drive.


rascard2007 wrote:
try a look at:

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/repair_install_warning.htm

and here:

http://www.techrepublic.com/article/10-things-you-can-do-when-windows-xp-wont-boot/6031733


Looked at those, thanks. Unfortunately, the few things I can try in the list in the second link don't work, and I can't try the others since I can't get the machine to boot either normally, in Safe Mode, Last Known Good Configuration, or from the XP disc.

Trying to boot from the disc I get the normal load info (Setup is Loading Files), then it immediately goes to Setup Is Starting Windows and I get the stop error right away. I never get any options at all (no repair option, no install XP option, nothing).

I guess this installation is hosed and I'll have to just start anew. I can't see any other options.

Thanks guys, for all the help.
_________________
Antec Nine Hundred
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.6 Ghz
Gigabyte P35 DS3L
Mushkin Redlines 2 x2GB kit
EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896 MB
WD 250 GB SATA2
Seagate 160 GB SATA
WD 500 GB SATA2
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
PC P&C Silencer 750W
Windows XP SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19017
Location: 07438

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ensure that the date/time is correct. Go into the BIOS and adjust if needed so the setting is right. Have seen a few XP installs that balked at fully loading, if the date and time were much older (months) than the last boot up!
This can happen too, if the date and time were somehow advanced beyond "real" time and then you try to reboot in actual time! System files would have a time/date stamp, but to note them you would have to mount the drive in another system as secondary!
_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldPhatDad
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 681
Location: Some backwater in the Orion Arm

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Karlsweldt wrote:
Ensure that the date/time is correct. Go into the BIOS and adjust if needed so the setting is right. Have seen a few XP installs that balked at fully loading, if the date and time were much older (months) than the last boot up!
This can happen too, if the date and time were somehow advanced beyond "real" time and then you try to reboot in actual time! System files would have a time/date stamp, but to note them you would have to mount the drive in another system as secondary!


Thanks, Karl, but I made sure it was correct a several attempts back.
_________________
Antec Nine Hundred
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.6 Ghz
Gigabyte P35 DS3L
Mushkin Redlines 2 x2GB kit
EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896 MB
WD 250 GB SATA2
Seagate 160 GB SATA
WD 500 GB SATA2
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
PC P&C Silencer 750W
Windows XP SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldPhatDad
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 681
Location: Some backwater in the Orion Arm

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AHHHH!!! Stupid, stupid, STUPID! I think I figured it out. Stupid me, I have 3 hard drives in this rig, one for data and one for backup. Anyway, all this time I was booting and re-booting and screwing around with all three drives connected. I installed a brand new blank drive and tried to install XP on it and still got the stop error. So then I finally grabbed a clue and unhooked the extra drives.

XP fired up from the disc no problem and gave me the option to install or repair. Then I switched in my old hard drive that has the OS installed and LO! it booted without issue. So I think one of my other hard drives is bad and that's what was causing the boot issues. And I think I know which one it is. Ye gods, I can't believe I was so stupid as to not disconnect those first thing just to isolate the system. Stupid, stupid, stupid.

Anyway, thanks once again everyone for all the help and sorry to waste so much of your time.
_________________
Antec Nine Hundred
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.6 Ghz
Gigabyte P35 DS3L
Mushkin Redlines 2 x2GB kit
EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896 MB
WD 250 GB SATA2
Seagate 160 GB SATA
WD 500 GB SATA2
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
PC P&C Silencer 750W
Windows XP SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group