AM3+ cooler compatibility

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

AM3+ cooler compatibility

Postby asassin' » Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:40 am

Do all AM3 coolers fit +'s; what gives? Looked ot Zalman's site, says CNPS9900 Max fits; resellers' don't. I'm aware they came out about 2 years ago, but with their craveat not to transport assembled, I'm a little nervous about the tricky installation (my last builds were XP/MP Athlons).
asassin'
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Postby Mr T » Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:39 pm

The Coolers rated for 939,940, 754, AM2 will fit an AM3, AM3+ CPU as the retaining brackets are all the same.. Just make sure it is rated for the TDP of the CPU, ie 95W, 125w or 145W...
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Postby asassin' » Sat Nov 17, 2012 10:14 am

Thanks Mr T, but your answer raised another question. Zalman lists Qmax instead of TDP. Are they a 1 to1 ratio, or is there a conversion factor as in UPSs' VA to W?
asassin'
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Postby Mr T » Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:41 am

Reading through the reviews it seems to me that Qmax is the maximum wattage of heat to power dissipation.. TDP is the maximum power to heat that the CPU will disperse.. This is only my reasoning (correct me if I am wrong).

If the Qmax of the heatsink/fan is rated to 350w, it will cool the CPU running at maximum TDP (ie 125w) in a proprtional ratio and cool it well. If your qmax is close or lower to the TDP of the CPU then the cooler won't work or won't work well for that CPU. Remeber due to the green brigade CPU manufacturers are trying to get the TDP of any CPU as low as they can without affecting performance.