The Mother Board
Upgrading the SSD hard drive in Dell Inspiron 910

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rascard2007
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap


Joined: 12 Jun 2007
Posts: 421
Location: Havana, Cuba

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:03 am    Post subject: Upgrading the SSD hard drive in Dell Inspiron 910 Reply with quote

A girl friend of mine has an Dell Inspiron 910 with an 8GB SSD disk.

the Disk stops working and she wants tu updgrade to a bigger one.

What kind of SSD disk should I ask for.

meny thanks in advance,

Sam
_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree


Joined: 09 Aug 2004
Posts: 2537
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you're wondering about compatibility, you shouldn't have any issues. that SSD i'm assuming is old enough that it's SATA or SATA2 at the most. anything you get now would be backward-compatible.

-Roach
_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GTX 560ti FPB
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
rascard2007
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap


Joined: 12 Jun 2007
Posts: 421
Location: Havana, Cuba

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MAny thanks

Certainly is a compatibilty issue, the one that came with it is STEC PATA 8GB, I think itīs mini PCIe, and because of that Iīm asking for advice on replacing it

thanks again

Sam
_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.amazon.com/RunCore-Solid-Inspiron-Vostro-Blazing/dp/B002RHCICM/ref=pd_sxp_grid_i_2_1

There's 16 and 32GB models as well.
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
rascard2007
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap


Joined: 12 Jun 2007
Posts: 421
Location: Havana, Cuba

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, evasive
_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rascard2007
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap


Joined: 12 Jun 2007
Posts: 421
Location: Havana, Cuba

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, in order to learn a little more abvout the SSD drive problem while I wait till buy a new one I found some info in other forums about a recovery process for that specific STEC 8G SSD.

I used the STEC micro code update utility an it seems to worked fine, now the windows XP install sees the drive and allow me to create a partition, but when I try to format the partition in NTFS the program process (aparently) the 100% of the disk and after that says that canīt complete the format.

do I need some driver in order to windows installation program can format the SSD drive? (like the SCSI or RAID drivers, for example, that have to be loaded pressing F6 in the windows instalation routine)

or... is there another issue with the SSD disk?

Thanks in advance,

Sam
_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 16755
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you format it in FAT32, you may not always get the option in XP setup though?
_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rascard2007
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap


Joined: 12 Jun 2007
Posts: 421
Location: Havana, Cuba

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try to format it in fat32, I was just wondering about that,

thank you very much

Sam
_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> General All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group