RAM for Z77 Pro4, Z77 motherboard?

Not sure what to buy? Ask here for some free advice.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

RAM for Z77 Pro4, Z77 motherboard?

Postby cccc » Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:13 pm

Hi

I have this motherboard:

AsRock Z77 Pro4, Z77, LGA1155, PCI-E 3.0, CF, ATX

Can I use this Kingston's Memoty Kit 4 x 4x 4GB?

KHX18C9T2K4/16X
4x 4GB
PC3-15000 / DDR3-1866 MHz
Timing: CL9-11-9@1.65V
Buffer: unbuffered
Pin: 240-pin DIMM
Compatibility: X79 Chipsatz
cccc
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:26 pm

Postby cccc » Thu Oct 18, 2012 3:04 am

Knows anyone?
cccc
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:26 pm

Postby Mr T » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:04 am

It should work, I have used many different brands of DDR3 on various boards and have had no compatibility issues yet. That ASRock board is pretty fine with the brands I have used from Corsair to Patriot. Just because it is not on the boards QVL doesn't mean it won't work...
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 16790
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby evasive » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:08 am

Kingstons answer for your board:
http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/hyperx_ ... ysID=77026
(not found)

Asrocks answer for your planned modules:
http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z77%20Pro4/?cat=Memory
(not found)

our answer: at your own risk. memory in general is a lot more compatible and Asrock boards are quite forgiving.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 36771
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Mr T » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:11 am

Have you already got the Kingston RAM?
Is it at a good price?
And what are you going to use the system for? (gaming, over clocking, high end stuff maybe?)..
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 16790
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby cccc » Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:03 pm

Mr T wrote:Have you already got the Kingston RAM?
Is it at a good price?
And what are you going to use the system for? (gaming, over clocking, high end stuff maybe?)..


I have ordered this RAM for about 75.- USD.
Is it a good price for this RAM, how much costs in US?
cccc
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:26 pm


Return to Recommendations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests