Win 7 not updating at all

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby visu » Tue Sep 18, 2012 6:16 pm

thanks for the link but its the exact same result.

this is internet explorer.
Image

the os will launch this automatically, so i'm back to square one
Image

and then the error message that i've grown to hate...
Image
mobo: Gigabyte GA-A75M-D2H
processor: AMD A4-3400
ram: Kingston ddr3 pc1333 8gb(4gbx2)
ssd: Crucial M4 64 gb
hdd: WD Blue 1tb
psu: Silverstone SST-ST50F-ES
tv capture PCI: Kworld PVR-TV 7134SE
dvd rw: LG 24x SATA
case: Silverstone GD06
os: Win 7 Home Premium 64bit with SP1
visu
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 pm

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:51 am

Something fishy here.. in the Sahara Desert!!
A rare possibility you are captured by a "redirect" Trojan or virus.. noting that 'thanks' inclusion in the URL address!
Is all your software genuine and from trusted sources? All with a valid COA (certificate of authenticity)? Counterfeit copies of Windows OS are out there.. and look almost genuine.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19306
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby Roach412 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:47 am

that seems like a faked site. you should still be able to get out to websites without windows updates.

see (if possible) if this topic relates:
http://www.vistax64.com/system-security ... elp-7.html

are there unusual processes running on your machine? try killing anything that you don't know and retry.

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GTX 660ti
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2566
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Postby evasive » Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:06 am

:o

this and the fact the ATi drivers keep coming up as being unsigned makes me think there's trouble, especially since this machine does not want to install any anti-virus solution either...

http://www.avg.com/us-en/avg-rescue-cd#tba3
http://www.f-secure.com/en/web/labs_glo ... l/view/142
http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.ph ... pic=112848

to name a few. seriously sounds like you've got a bootsector/rootkit in there.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 36833
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Karlsweldt » Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:05 am

A genuine Windows OS install disk will have a full-surface hologram on the label side.. and appear to have no "tracks" on the data side. If otherwise, you may have a counterfeit copy that is hacked and possibly infected!!
Factory-issued OS disks are stamped.. never burnt. Disk stamping machines are very expensive. Optical disk duplicators (burners) are not so expensive. And when burning a copy of the original OS install disk, certain data files are not replicated.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19306
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby visu » Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:41 pm

re antivirus... i ran an online antivirus scan from trendmicro and it came out clean. also the 1st instance of failed digital cert was when i updated using the dvd provided by gigabyte. so i wasnt even connected to the net at that stage.

re genuine os... i'm 100% sure now its genuine coz i activated it. and yes it came with all the right packaging and dvd security marks.

my problem has been escalated to ms 2nd level tech support, but i have yet to hear back.
Last edited by visu on Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
visu
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 pm

Postby visu » Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:23 pm

i thought i'd post all the steps ms support took so far (up to when they took over remote access to the pc)

Solution 1: Clean Boot

1. Click Start
2. Type msconfig.exe in the Start Search box, and then press ENTER to start the System Configuration Utility.
3. If you are prompted for an administrator password or for confirmation, type your password, or click Continue.
4. On the General tab, click Selective Startup, and then click to clear the Load startup items check box. (The Use Original Boot.ini check box is unavailable.)
5. On the Services tab, click to select the Hide all Microsoft services check box, and then click Disable all.

Note Following this step lets Microsoft services continue to run. These services include Networking, Plug and Play, Event Logging, Error Reporting, and other services. If you disable these services, you may permanently delete all restore points. Do not do this if you want to use the System Restore utility together with existing restore points.
6. Click OK, and then click Restart
7. Check if windows update still fails to install.
Last edited by visu on Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
visu
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 pm

Postby visu » Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:26 pm

Solution 2: Reset windows update Component

1. Click the below link
http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9665683
2. When prompted click Run (If there is no prompt, check if there is any pop up blocked)
3. If you see “aggressive mode” box, please check the box
4. Complete the wizard and then restart your machine

If our issue still persists, I would need to gather some information regarding your PC to have a better understanding of the system and issue at hand.
· Internet connection type? (Broadband or dialup or on a network?)
· Is the computer connected to a workgroup or domain?
· Do you have Windows 7 installation CD?
· This is a desktop or a laptop?
· What is the update that fails to install?
visu
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 pm

Postby visu » Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:30 pm

Solution 3 Register.bat

1) Click Start, type Notepad in the Search box, and then click Notepad in the Programs list.
2) Copy the following text, and then paste the text in Notepad.

net stop cryptsvc
net stop wscsvc
net stop wuauserv
net stop bits
net stop windefend
ren %windir%\system32\catroot2 catroot3.old
ren %windir%\SoftwareDistribution SoftwareDistribution2.old
ren %systemroot%\Security\*.log %systemroot%\Security\*.log.old
ren %windir%\WindowsUpdate.log WindowsUpdate2.log
net start windefend
net start bits
net start wuauserv
net start wscsvc
net start cryptsvc

3) Click File, click Save As, and then type Register.bat
4) In the Save as type box, click All Files (*.*).
5) In the Save in box, click Desktop, and then click Save.
6) On the File menu, click Exit.
7) Right-click the Register.bat file that you saved in step 5 and select Run as administrator.
8) Once it finishes, please reboot the computer.
9) Test Windows Update
Last edited by visu on Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
visu
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 pm

Postby visu » Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:32 pm

Solution 4: System file checker (SFC) scan

At this point, I would suggest that you run the System file checker (SFC) scan, to check if there are any system file inconsistencies. To do this, follow the steps listed below:

a. Click Start > All Program > Accessories
b. Right-click Command Prompt > Run as administrator
c. Type in sfc /scannow then press ENTER
d. Wait until the process has completed
e. Capture a screenshot and send it to me

** scan found corrupt system files
visu
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest