tcpip.sys d1 error...

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby evasive » Wed Jul 04, 2012 6:37 am

bdub wrote:is the WAN ICMP echo request check box something i need? doesn't seem to affect anything since unchecking it. does that just stop outside addresses from pinging the router?


yes
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 36833
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Karlsweldt » Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:36 am

Having a wireless network that is "open" is not a good idea. Hackers cruise neighborhoods looking for free signals, and can inflict damage to your home setup.. or cause excessive client loads on the system.
Always a good idea to set restrictions on who uses a wireless network.. allowing only specific IP addresses in your group. Adding or removing an IP address is easy.
Wireless setups have to share the same RF signal with other devices.. cell phones, remote controls, a mouse or keyboard.. and may have interference problems from nearby devices (within 100 feet or so) that create strong signals. And if there is an RF reflective surface too close to the antenna, corrupted data packets can cause repeated 'resend' echoes.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19306
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby bdub » Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:37 pm

well i had wpa2 on with a strong password. is there a way to get in even with that measure being implemented?
as far as i could tell, the three computers they had were the only ones with access, and i did restrict the ip address range handed out by dhcp to only 10, and restricted total devices to 5.

like i said earlier, now that i've turned off the radio, zero problems. but in the future, i may want to turn it on again for myself, and i'd like to squelch this issue before then..
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3503
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby bdub » Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:42 pm

i also turned off "ssid broadcasting", so you have to know it by typing it in.
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3503
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Previous

Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests