The Mother Board
In Game FPS drops in COD
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nownicked
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:52 am    Post subject: In Game FPS drops in COD Reply with quote

When I play Call Of Duty BlackOps or Modern Walfare 3, I experience huge FPS drops, which almost make the game unplayable, although other games such as Battlefield 3 can be played without any issues.
I have ran the game using one 580, as well as non-overclocked, and the FPS drops still occur.

my specs are:

intel i7 3930k - at 4Ghz (on h100)
gigabyte SOC gtx 580 *2
16gigs of corsair ram
gigabyte x79 ud7 motherboard
enermax 1200watt psu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you experience the frame-rate drops during single player sessions, or on-line sessions? if on-line, then i'd say it's due to low ping servers.
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nownicked
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No sorry, the FPS drops are experienced in both single and multi-player.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 16754
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update windows and also update the game - that should always be the first point of call... Next see how hot things are getting... Sometimes things get hot and fail, and may not totally fail but give you issues - check the RAM,CPU video cards and also see how hot the PSU gets... Run something like Furmark, great stress test for video cards... Also what is your network like? Are you experiencing wifi slow downs etc... A bad LAN can cause this even on the single player front...

Disable any processes using task manager and useless boot up stuff like network managers(I only use on windows machines wireless zero config), printer software and so forth...

What monitor(s) are you running out to?
_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nownicked
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am running 1 27inch 1080p monitor.

Windows is up to date, and so are the games (through steam), i ran AIDA 64 stability test wile also running furmark. Temps on the cpu maxed out at 60c, the top gpu was at 72c, bottom at 62c and the RAM remained cool. The PSU also remains cool to the touch.

My network seems fine, its not the fastest, at 8Mb/s, but I don't think thats the issue. - Battlefield multiplayer works fine...

Do you think it could be related to the PSU? the power supply is enermax 1200watt, but it causes unexpected shutoffs, where you need to turn on and off the switch, which occur during idle as well as high load situations. I haven't sent it back because I don't really want to wait two weeks, without my computer.

any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

may be a driver issue that affects only some games... maybe, what driver are you using, have you updated it?
what resolution are you playing at? if you lower the resolution on the games affected, do the frame rates stay high.

what you say about your power supply seems a bit dire. unexpected shut-offs are never good.
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nownicked
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using 296.10 driver, which is the most recent, the FPS does drop, from 60.1 (vsync) to about 40, but the slight pause makes the game nearly impossible to play.
I lowered the resolution from 1920*1080 to 800*600 and FPS still drops. crying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 16754
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, sounds like a weak/failing PSU... Have you a known working one to hand?
_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nownicked
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not on me.. ill need to send it back.

How come BF3 Multiplayer works fine though?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3450
Location: Washington D.C.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how often do you see these power shut-offs?
going from 60 fps to 40fps really isn't that bad... i mean that's still faster than movies or tv shows play. is the loss in fps a stutter, like everything stops for a few milliseconds (that WOULD be annoying).
i'd be more worried about the shut downs than that fps loss.
_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
seagate 500GB 32M cache
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Tech Support All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group