The Mother Board
Win7 Horizontal Span w/ Dual Monitors?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Operating Systems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 25 Feb 2002
Posts: 753
Location: The Great State of Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 1:12 pm    Post subject: Win7 Horizontal Span w/ Dual Monitors? Reply with quote

I've been looking around for something that will allow me to get one display on two monitors. I was able to do it easy in XP because of the Nvidia driver, but it will not work in 7. I have the Gigabyte GTX 280 video card. I am trying to find a third party software that will allow me to have the one display on the two monitors ... anyone know if anything like this exist? crying

Leave it to M$ not to have a way to configure the monitors with a horizontal span evil owned
_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
GIGABYTE GA-H81M-HD3
8Gb DDR3 1333
Gigabyte GTX 660 GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
RAIDmax RX-630SS P/S
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2
4Gb DDR3 1600
GIGABYTE GTX 280
WD SATA 7200RPM
Cooler Master RS-500
WinXP x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19020
Location: 07438

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You actually need a dual GPU video card to display different hi-res images. With a single GPU, you can do a 'split-screen' setup with two different images, but only in a static form, or with minimal activity. To get decent frame speed and image quality, only a dual GPU video card is the choice. Your version may not have that capacity. Going SLI may provide desired results. Windows does have the capacity to control two different video streams, but not a "resident" (built-in) feature. That is provided by the video card software.
_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 25 Feb 2002
Posts: 753
Location: The Great State of Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a dual video card ... and XP can give me one big display but Win 7 can't because there is no software that I know of that will do what the Nvidia software in XP can do which is give me one big picture with two monitors. I don't want a split screen with two different images ... I want the horizontal span feature ... why can't I get it with Win 7? owned
_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
GIGABYTE GA-H81M-HD3
8Gb DDR3 1333
Gigabyte GTX 660 GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
RAIDmax RX-630SS P/S
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2
4Gb DDR3 1600
GIGABYTE GTX 280
WD SATA 7200RPM
Cooler Master RS-500
WinXP x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 16754
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Install the nVidia video driver, it gives you more features than the 'generic' one that win 7 installs automatically... (ie control panel)...
_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt


Joined: 25 Feb 2002
Posts: 753
Location: The Great State of Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:05 am    Post subject: I did install nvidia Reply with quote

Hi Mr T ... well sir ... I did install the lasted nvidia driver and it is just about the same as the Win 7 display properties. Nothing to give me a horizontal span like in XP. It just doesn't make any sense for nvidia to have the function in XP but not 7.

A third party software that can do the horizontal span seems to be the only solution, but so far ... I haven't been able to find anything that will work. owned
_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
GIGABYTE GA-H81M-HD3
8Gb DDR3 1333
Gigabyte GTX 660 GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
RAIDmax RX-630SS P/S
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2
4Gb DDR3 1600
GIGABYTE GTX 280
WD SATA 7200RPM
Cooler Master RS-500
WinXP x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36700
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This has been an issue ever since Microsoft moved to the "new WDM" line of drivers. So far, I haven't seen anything to correct this so the solution is to stay with XP or ditch windows alltogether...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xinerama
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Operating Systems All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group