The Mother Board
getting back into it...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboards.org Folding Team
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 16 Dec 2001
Posts: 14081
Location: Maine

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:08 pm    Post subject: getting back into it... Reply with quote

well I now have a new desktop and a new (about a year old now) laptop. Im interested in getting them folding but am not sure on best setup..

Both systems are running Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit.
Desktop is running an AMD Athlon II 250 Dual Core and has 3GB of RAM
Laptop is running an Intel i3 M330@2.13GHz and has 4GB of RAM
_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Other sites:
Hydrocephalus-Talk
DSL/Cable Webserver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19019
Location: 07438

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good to have you back in the "fold".
Best would be the Console version on the desktop, set your prefs and "let 'er rip" so to speak. If you have a multi-core CPU, it can do two WUs simultaneously, as long as they have different folder names (or on different drives). The laptop would be best with only one WU at a time. Of course, it would have to always be on AC power, and may need a cooling plate or other means to keep it at a happy temperature. Should run normally with the lid closed. Guess you know the link for the Console version commands..
http://folding.stanford.edu/console-userguide.html .

I use a Console control for each WU, launched from a desktop link.. not as a service-related start.
I would do a 24/7 folding routine, but electric costs by me are at $0.175 per KWH! Hope they are less in your area.
_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree


Joined: 10 Jul 2001
Posts: 5487
Location: Flintshire, U.K

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Toby,

Good to see you here again. Karl has pretty well summed it up, just a couple of things to add. After you've added your flags (-advmethods is usually best) and you run the program for the first make sure that after you've added your user name, team number, etc that you proceed to the advanced settings. You can leave them all on the default setting except for the machine ID settings which on each instance must be set differently. The other thing worth mentioning is what sort of graphics card you have in the AMD machine. If you have an ATI or NVidia card then this can be utilised too. Not sure exactly what ATI cards are supported but anything from an 8600 Nvidia card can be used to great effect.

Cheers,

Pete
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
~PJ~
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have to say I'm not sure how to set it up twice for dual core...
_________________


Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 19019
Location: 07438

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 5:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Setting up F@H for dual-core should be no different than the previous generation CPU types with HT. As long as each program folder has a unique name, there should be no problems with crossing operations. You could use "F@H1", "F@H2" or "Folding@Home1", or other. As long as each folder has the unique name. Of course the programming in each would need to be duplicated, and your unique user name and machine type would be added to the start-up configuration. Stanford will add the unique serial # ID to your configuration.
_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboards.org Folding Team All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group