| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Pette Broad Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: 10 Jul 2001 Posts: 5485 Location: Flintshire, U.K
|
Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:39 am Post subject: Motherboards.org Virus? [solved] |
|
|
FYI...Avast is blocking an apparent infection called URL.MAL everytime I log on.
Pete _________________
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Karlsweldt Enlightened Master


Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 18574 Location: 07438
|
Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hope that is a 'false positive' and not true! So far, my AVG has sent up no warning flags.. and it does check for malicious sites. _________________ F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Pette Broad Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: 10 Jul 2001 Posts: 5485 Location: Flintshire, U.K
|
Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 3:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Karlsweldt wrote: | | Hope that is a 'false positive' and not true! So far, my AVG has sent up no warning flags.. and it does check for malicious sites. |
Other sites are also reporting the same thing
http://forums.hexus.net/general-discussion/193311-malware-ad.html
Looks to be a Malware Ad that's been injected into mobo.org and other sites. Hopefully not too damaging, one of the mods should PM Doc, I don't think he keeps a close eye on things these days.
Pete _________________
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
evasive Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001 Posts: 36385 Location: Netherlands, Breda
|
Posted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 1:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
done _________________ We hate rut, but we fear change.
System error, strike any user to continue... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
fussnfeathers Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 04 Dec 2008 Posts: 3093 Location: under my desk with a roast beef sandwich
|
Posted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 4:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Avira hasn't said anything yet either. Do you remember what ad it is specifically? It's hard to see in your image. _________________ Mine go to 11 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
evasive Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001 Posts: 36385 Location: Netherlands, Breda
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Roach412 Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: 09 Aug 2004 Posts: 2456 Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
|
Posted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
there definitely was something before - it attempted to auto execute an .exe on some website.
didn't have much time to look into it, google returned a bunch of german-based websites discussing it.
-Roach _________________ Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GTX 560ti FPB
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
fussnfeathers Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 04 Dec 2008 Posts: 3093 Location: under my desk with a roast beef sandwich
|
Posted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I can verify it's not the ad, I've had that ad twice now today with no issues. Probably something injected in between ads before it hit Motherboards. _________________ Mine go to 11 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
MrG Brown Belt

Joined: 14 Dec 2008 Posts: 335
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Hardware Junkie Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 25 Jan 2001 Posts: 19351 Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
|
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Now Firefox is treating this site as "badware" _________________ "Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|