The Mother Board
Dell MB OMF252

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboard Identification Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GHayes21@cfl.rr.com
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 8:24 am    Post subject: Dell MB OMF252 Reply with quote

This Board appears not to have Sensors in it.I cant get Tempatue & Fan Speed programs to work??It is in the XPS200 Desk Top.Any one have any ideas of what I can do????Geerge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36704
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is possible, branded boxes are always a compromise between price and functionality, if they can save a penny they will. Anyway, what software have you tried so far?
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
GHayes21@cfl.rr.com
Pilgrim
Pilgrim


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:54 am    Post subject: Cant get program to work Reply with quote

I have installe CPU Thermometer 1.0 & Fan Speed,both dont seem to work. eye roll
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36704
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you elaborate on where you got those?

something like this:
http://www.samurize.com/modules/news/
might do the trick. however, it is still unsure your board has sensors at all.
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 3124
Location: Right behind you

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sure the board has sensors, never seen one in recent years that didn't. OEM boards like those from Dell, HP, Compaq and the rest tend to use proprietary chips, though, and the usual suspects for software monitoring simply don't work with them. You need to find the chipset, looke carefully at the writing (will tell you what Winbond version it is) and then verify that against different software monitoring solutions. Chances are extremely likely nothing will work, though.
_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

and for the million hours that we were....well I'll smile and remember them all, then I'll turn and go....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master


Joined: 06 May 2001
Posts: 36704
Location: Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm would the Dell diagnostic CD give anything away about what chips are used? Good point though.
_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.



System error, strike any user to continue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Mother Board Forum Index -> Motherboard Identification Forum All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group