help please

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

help please

Postby sheeptag » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:40 pm

Yeah, so I put a new motherboard in my friends computer, and fixed it all up for him, but the computer only turns on for about 3 seconds max when i hit the switch and then switches off. I thought it might have been a fan that was connected improperly or something, but the fans and everything seem fine. Any suggestions?


Thanks in advance.
sheeptag
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:38 pm

Postby sheeptag » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:45 pm

please help, even if you point out something stupid that i missed and make me look like a complete tard.
sheeptag
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:38 pm

Postby theherkman » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:48 pm

What are the power requirements on the motherboard? And what wattage is the power supply?
theherkman
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:42 pm

Postby theherkman » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:49 pm

Also, do you have a video or audio card installed? Network card? HD's? ROM drives? Anything using electricity?
theherkman
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:42 pm

Postby sheeptag » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:52 pm

i have two hard drives, two CD/DVD drives, a PCI wireless card thing, and 420 watt power supply
sheeptag
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:38 pm

Postby theherkman » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:54 pm

No video/audio cards?

What is the motherboard?
theherkman
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:42 pm

Postby sheeptag » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:55 pm

i put in a new power supply as well for him, could this be the problem?
sheeptag
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:38 pm

Postby theherkman » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:56 pm

Please answer my questions so I can help you.

Do you have an audio or video card?

What motherboard did you put in?
theherkman
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:42 pm

Postby sheeptag » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:57 pm

nope, nope its using integrated video and sound, its not anything special for a computer, but yeah the mother board is a VIA KM400A Pro
sheeptag
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:38 pm

Postby theherkman » Fri Jul 27, 2007 5:00 pm

Thank you. From what I can see, your power supply is more than sufficient to run everything in your computer. Your power supply is set to the right voltage, correct?
theherkman
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:42 pm

Next

Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Bot] and 3 guests