The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 22, 2019 12:16 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 5:51 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 11:59 am
Posts: 319
I bought a display desktop PC from Best Buy that has Windows 10 installed

I am curious, in the event that I need to reinstall Windows 10, how would I go about doing that if they did not provide me with an installation CD and the key code

_________________
Antec 900 - 650W ATX
Intel DQ35JOE
Intel Core 2 DUO Q6600 Quad Core 4gb
Kingston 8GB (4x2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2-800MHz Intel PC Desktop Memory DIMM SDRAM 240pin
Primary: SATA Kingston A400 SSD 240GB SATA 3 2.5” Solid State Drive SA400S37 (240gb)
Secondary: SATA 3gb/s - Hitachi HDP725050GLA360(500 gb)
External: USB: SATA 3gb/s - WDC-WD7500AACS-00ZJB0 (750 gb)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 - PCIe v1.1 x16 (2.5 Gb/s) @ x16 (2.5 Gb/s)
MS Windows 10-64bit
BIOS: JOQ3510J.86A.1143.2010.1209.0048 - 12/09/2010


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:56 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2759
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
I don't think you can - you need that activation code. Typically it's found somewhere on the case on a sticker, but...if it was a display, they most likely removed it (for obvious reasons).

-R

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:36 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37565
Location: Netherlands
even if they removed it, it should come with the system in another form. in this case, go back to Best Buy and ask for the keycode

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 8:35 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17178
Location: England
If it is an OEM Windows 10 install, you don'y need a key code. Download the latest Windows 10 using their tool and install it to a minimum 8Gb pen drive. To reinstall, boot from that and install. Once installed windows will activate based on the hardware signature. I have lost count the amount of times I have had to do this when updating windows on the cheaper laptops and small PC's that have a 32Gb SSD (far too small for windows 10, 256Gb minimum to allow for major updates).

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group