The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 5:28 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:53 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 956
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Wellsir ... back to the problem that started this whole new build adventure. :roll: Here is what I did ... I was instructed to install the driver before installing the card. I did. When windows 7 started it installed the driver, but when I go into the device manager I am getting a yellow(!) under the USB controllers section. It is listed as Renesas Electronics USB 3.0 Host Controller. The device status is reporting ... "The device cannot start. (Code 10).

I have tried several different things. Reinstalling the driver. Putting the card in a different PCIe slot. Resetting the CMOS. The only thing I saw in the BIOS about the PCIe was under the Settings\Advance\PCI Subsystem Settings ... PCIe Slot1 Lanes Config. (x16) there is a second option of x4+x4+x4+x4 ... not sure what that means ... it is set for x16. There is something about a PCIe Lane Config. ... MSI M.2 xander/ MSI M.2 xpander-z/ other M.2 PCIe storage card change this item to x4+x4+x4+x4 when using MSI M.2 xpander-z.

Anyone have any idea how I can get this card to work? :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:47 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17184
Location: England
Make sure the power connector is in and working...

Common issue with windows 7 and USB 3.0.

Check this out...

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:33 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 956
Location: The Great State of Ohio
It claims not to need a power supply. It didn't come with a power connector. Those updates the post did to get his card working was for intel boards ... mine is a MSI ... :(

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:57 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 956
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I'm seeing a lot of reviews on this card where people are having trouble getting it to work on a AMD rig ....

https://www.amazon.com/product-reviews/B011LZY20G/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_viewopt_fmt?ie=UTF8&filterByStar=one_star&showViewpoints=0&sortBy=recent&pageNumber=1&formatType=current_format Can anyone recommend a card that will work on my rig?

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 12:03 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17184
Location: England
USB 3.0 cards usually require to have the extra power if in a PCI-e 1x slot. If it has the input on the card, try it and see. If still no dice, replace the card and use a card with an NEC controller chip (I have had similar issues with ASmedia USB controllers).

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:00 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 956
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I'm going to try another one of these hubs https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005NGQWL2/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1since the first one was bad maybe this one will work. If not I will try another card.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:00 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 956
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I just pull this out of the box today and it will not work. It caused my system to crash twice ....
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 1000007e
BCP1: FFFFFFFFC0000005
BCP2: FFFFF8800E81FE2D
BCP3: FFFFF88002578808
BCP4: FFFFF88002578070
OS Version: 6_1_7601
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 256_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\031919-20498-01.dmp
C:\Users\Spirittoo\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-44413-0.sysdata.xml

I see the port lights come on when the BIOS flashes during boot up but when windows opens ... nothing.
It is a Anker 10 port hub
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005NGQWL2/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Any idea what the problem is? I know the ports on the mobo work because I plugged other devices in them.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:07 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 956
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Talked with tech support about the hub. Apparently it is not compatible with my system. I have no idea why. I'm returning it and trying another PCIe card.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:54 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 956
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Okay here is the plan ... I have this card coming tomorrow ...

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FPIMICA/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

If it doesn't work I have this hub coming some time next week.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/7-Port-USB-3-0-Hub-5Gbps-High-Speed-On-Off-Switches-AC-Adapter-for-PC-Laptop-Mac/264096102905?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&var=563652023339&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649

I know this hub will work because I am using the 4 port version of it now on the Ryzen rig. So we shall see if the card works tomorrow.
:-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD Ryzen 7 1700
MSI Gaming B350
16Gb DDR4 2133
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate BarraCuda Pro 4TB SATA 7200RPM
Inland 600 P/S
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:57 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37568
Location: Netherlands
That card DOES have a power connector that you DO need to connect.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group