The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:16 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Need Advise on RAM
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 9:28 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 11:59 am
Posts: 319
My desktop computer has an Intel DQ35J0 MB that has 4 slots for memory. I recently did a fresh install of Win10 and currently have all memory 4 slots occupied with Kingston 2GB 240-pin SDRAM - DDR2@ 397mhz (I have a total of 8gm RAM)

I have to apologize, I am no where near an expert on knowing just what thresholds exist for this motherboard. So my questions that I am seeking advise on are:
1 - Is the memory now maxed out? Is there room to expand to more and if so will that make the machine run better with Win10?
2 - If so, I am looking for a recommendation of what to purchase and from where.

Any advise is greatly appreciated.

_________________
Antec 900 - 650W ATX
Intel DQ35JOE
Intel Core 2 DUO Q6600 Quad Core 4gb
Kingston 8GB (4x2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2-800MHz Intel PC Desktop Memory DIMM SDRAM 240pin
Primary: SATA Kingston A400 SSD 240GB SATA 3 2.5” Solid State Drive SA400S37 (240gb)
Secondary: SATA 3gb/s - Hitachi HDP725050GLA360(500 gb)
External: USB: SATA 3gb/s - WDC-WD7500AACS-00ZJB0 (750 gb)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 - PCIe v1.1 x16 (2.5 Gb/s) @ x16 (2.5 Gb/s)
MS Windows 10-64bit
BIOS: JOQ3510J.86A.1143.2010.1209.0048 - 12/09/2010


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Need Advise on RAM
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:25 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17184
Location: England
RAM will be maxed out. Getting hold of 4GB individual sticks of DDR2 is hard and usually if not all is server grade (registered and ECC) so won't work. If it all works with what you have and runs fine, don't waste money on a RAM upgrade. Where to put the money in upgrading these days is in a decent SSD - For Windows, always buy a decent one, ie Kingston Crucial, Samsung (EVO) and you won't go wrong. My advice, 8GB of RAM is enough for most applications, speed windows up by running it off an SSD, 240Gb minimum and store all your files on other drives.

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Need Advise on RAM
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 6:23 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 11:59 am
Posts: 319
Thanks for the reply Mr T

One more question please. I need to be careful of what SSD i order, preferably from Amazon, because of my hardware configuration. Might I ask you to find a recommendation or two based on what I have provided below?

Desktop Win10 PC
DDR2 RAM

_________________
Antec 900 - 650W ATX
Intel DQ35JOE
Intel Core 2 DUO Q6600 Quad Core 4gb
Kingston 8GB (4x2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2-800MHz Intel PC Desktop Memory DIMM SDRAM 240pin
Primary: SATA Kingston A400 SSD 240GB SATA 3 2.5” Solid State Drive SA400S37 (240gb)
Secondary: SATA 3gb/s - Hitachi HDP725050GLA360(500 gb)
External: USB: SATA 3gb/s - WDC-WD7500AACS-00ZJB0 (750 gb)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 - PCIe v1.1 x16 (2.5 Gb/s) @ x16 (2.5 Gb/s)
MS Windows 10-64bit
BIOS: JOQ3510J.86A.1143.2010.1209.0048 - 12/09/2010


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Need Advise on RAM
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 6:52 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 11:59 am
Posts: 319
Also I forgot to mention...............

I/O Specifications
USB 2.0 Configuration (External + Internal)
6+6
Total # of SATA Ports
6
# of eSATA Ports
1

Not sure if this board allows SATA III connectors or not

_________________
Antec 900 - 650W ATX
Intel DQ35JOE
Intel Core 2 DUO Q6600 Quad Core 4gb
Kingston 8GB (4x2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2-800MHz Intel PC Desktop Memory DIMM SDRAM 240pin
Primary: SATA Kingston A400 SSD 240GB SATA 3 2.5” Solid State Drive SA400S37 (240gb)
Secondary: SATA 3gb/s - Hitachi HDP725050GLA360(500 gb)
External: USB: SATA 3gb/s - WDC-WD7500AACS-00ZJB0 (750 gb)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 - PCIe v1.1 x16 (2.5 Gb/s) @ x16 (2.5 Gb/s)
MS Windows 10-64bit
BIOS: JOQ3510J.86A.1143.2010.1209.0048 - 12/09/2010


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Need Advise on RAM
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:12 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2760
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
SATA 3 is backwards compatible with SATA 2 - so no worries there. you'll just transmit at SATA 2 speeds.

Crucial provides a "guaranteed" compatibility list for your MB:
https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatib ... SSDFilters

You can get a 250gb MX500 for $50(comes with a 9.5mm adapter as well).

I've had a few Crucial SSDs have nothing but praise for them so far. You're more than welcome to shop around to other manufacturers obviously though - you'll find lots of options out there.

-R

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Need Advise on RAM
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:26 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17184
Location: England
I concur, Crucial, but I also use Kingston and Samsung, but the Samsung EVO's are a bit more expensive as they have faster read/write speeds. If you do get Crucial, 240Gb minimum for windows and get the MX500 series - a bit quicker...

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group