The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:24 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 10:07 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Dover, NH USA
I have a Samsung Galaxy S7 and want to use a desktop APP on Windows 7 to sync and make updates to when I am in front of my PC...

Any suggestions??

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 1070 Ti 8GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v431.60
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 32GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 8:29 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Maybe Samsung and others already thought of that?
Most smart phones and tablets use the Android OS.
But go with known and trusted sites, so you don't get any "wormware" and 'loggers'.
https://www.samsung.com/us/sidesync/
https://en.softonic.com/downloads/andro ... /windows-7

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 8:35 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Dover, NH USA
Hey Karl, ok I will check them out when I get back online in a few minutes...
Doing the restart to update my audio drivers, Realtek sucks in this one regarding

Uninstall old ones Auto restart install new ones Auto restart
Oh what a bother the developers need to get their heads out of their asses

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 1070 Ti 8GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v431.60
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 32GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 10:57 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Quote:
Uninstall old ones Auto restart install new ones Auto restart

It is that way with a lot of programming, especially OS associated features!
Maybe the primary reason is to flush the RAM and refill new, with all the old drivers and DLL links gone.. then repeat with the new links. Some apps and features can associate with more than 10 DLL links to be useful!
Gone are the days when an OS needed only 2 megs or so of system memory. Today, even 4 gigs may not be sufficient, with all the bloatware!
There are hundreds of apps to link different formats and devices.. but you want one that is reliable and doesn't hang you out in the "hunting fields" for hackers, especially public WIFI sites! Even home WIFI setups are very vulnerable to hackers unless locked down with complex passwords. The best and safest "link" between devices is the old-fashioned hard wire!!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:28 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Dover, NH USA
my passwords are so complex as to be HACK PROOF and Mwhahaha and I use MAC filtering so hacking is impossible... anyway...


The Samsung SideSync might do the trick... but that does everything the phone is doing...

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 1070 Ti 8GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v431.60
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 32GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 12:41 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2760
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
joe_devore wrote:
my passwords are so complex as to be HACK PROOF and Mwhahaha and I use MAC filtering so hacking is impossible... anyway...


nothing is impossible to hack...it's simply a matter of expending the time, energy, money, technology and knowledge to accomplish it. if somebody considers those things and determines it "worthwhile" to hack it, it'll be hacked eventually.

besides, MAC filtering is practically useless for network security. it's really only useful for management of devices. might as well just open up a guest network with no security for those you want off your "main" network. :wink:

-R

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 12:44 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Dover, NH USA
I have MAC filtering set to disallow ALL but the ones I say ok to manually entered into the router...

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 1070 Ti 8GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v431.60
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 32GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:20 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2760
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
MAC (and IP subsequently) spoofing is covered in first semester network security - MAC addresses traverse unencrypted and once known an intruder can spoof it and be on your network just like the device they've spoofed from.

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 7:39 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
No filtering such as MAC, WPA or other form is really "hack-proof". Even a VPN with level 3 security is still a risk.
With modern algorithms on a search machine, hundreds of combinations can be tried in minutes. One safer means is a 3-time try lockout for that unauthorized IPA for at least 12 hours. Most financial institutions have this feature, and any more tries for access are blocked. Then you may have to call them for a temporary security clearance password!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: YandexBot [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group