The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows XP Reactivation
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 8:42 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
Hey guys its been a long time since I've been on here but I need some help on a Windows XP reactivation. I've had this machine since 2004!! and for some reason a message has popped up saying windows needs reactivating and despite following the instructions to the letter the reactivation process keeps ending in an error. Before anyone asks, this is a genuine Microsoft instillation and I have the key. I have according to the message 3 days to reacivate.

Cheers,

Pete

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:48 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20860
Location: 07438
Good to see you are still with us!
Perhaps the firewall is blocking access, but the XP version of IE is no longer accepted at most sites. Firefox or another default browser would be a good idea. Your system should have SP3 installed to be viable.
That reactivation bit coming up may be due to a device or feature that was not part of the original install.
I still have two active systems with XP, one 'main' and one 'reserve'. Then the Win7 setup for F@H semi-dedicated.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:21 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
Hi Karl,

I tried different browsers but it was still a no go, I also read somewhere else that it can require reactivation if the hardware changes but the only thing I've changed was to fit an NVidia card in it about 5 years ago (it came with built in SIS graphics)! So in the end I resorted to a registry hack. The PC, one of the very few I didn't build myself had all the updates until WinXP support ended in 2014.

Pete

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:13 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 5:28 am
Posts: 1
Hey, guys, I think it's a bit irrelevant, but I hope you can help me. Have you heard about this software "webwatcher"? This is a spy application and it seems like my phone is infected with it. Do you know how to remove it and find out whose job was it to set it? That would be highly appreciated.

Edit: removed link to insecure site/service.
..Karlsweldt.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 6:45 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20860
Location: 07438
Re post by MariaDPetiiford:
Not the appropriate topic for that thread, but allowed this time.
Best would be to contact the phone provider, get the OS version and type, check if they have a solution.
A fault with smart phones and similar is that we install "apps" that may seem innocent, yet are malicious.
https://www.cnet.com/news/malicious-sma ... ng-device/

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group