The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:28 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 8:21 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 11:59 am
Posts: 309
I have an XP system (see below), and I need to know if Windows 10 will work well on this machine. Also need to know if my system supports 64 bit. If my current system will not support 10, what will I need to do in order to get there?

Antec 900 - 650W ATX
Intel DQ35JOE
Intel Core 2 DUO Q6600 Quad Core 4gb
2gb 800mhz DDR2 DIMM
500gb SATA 7200rpm

_________________
Antec 900 - 650W ATX
Intel DQ35JOE
Intel Core 2 DUO Q6600 Quad Core 4gb
PC2-6400 DDR2-SDRAM UDIMM - 2x2 GB (Clocking 400mhz)
Primary: SATA 3gb/s - Hitachi HDP725050GLA360(500 gb)
External-USB: SATA 3gb/s - WDC-WD7500AACS-00ZJB0 (750 gb)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 - PCIe v1.1 x16 (2.5 Gb/s) @ x16 (2.5 Gb/s)
Microsoft Windows XP Professional Build 2600 - SP-3
BIOS: JOQ3510J.86A.1143.2010.1209.0048 - 12/09/2010


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 9:44 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2741
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
Yes, should work on Win10 64bit.

Found this where they did the (near) exact setup you have:
https://www.tenforums.com/installation- ... ystem.html

That being said - you could run into some oddities when trying to install Win10. Older CPUs and boards sometimes give fits.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:30 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17135
Location: England
Yes, no problems, the only thing I would do is upgrade the RAM to at least 4Gb and put it on an SSD to get a fast system.. If you want to save money and not bother with windows, try a free linux operating system..

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:31 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 1:01 am
Posts: 4409
Location: Saint Augustine Florida
I ran into the same issue with my beloved XP Pro Sager laptop. In addition to updating some of the hardware to meet W10 minimum requirements you need to check to see if the installed hardware and drivers are undateable with W10 some might be and some might not.

_________________
“Respect cannot be learned, purchased or acquired - it can only be earned” "Pay It Forward"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group