The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:12 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 12:18 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
the win 7 ultimate can´t connect to a domain in a network, and i need to do so, i´m thinking in go to win 7 pro. my question is:

is it an upgrade or a downgrade, I mean, Can I do the change in versions directly without losing any configuration or have I to do a fresh install of the system?

many thanks in advance

SAMH

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 3:34 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
It it technically a downgrade...

Home Premium -> Professional -> Ultimate

I don't think you can downgrade without simply installing pro as a fresh install. You would have to reinstall programs etc, but would not lose all that much in the way of features..

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 3:44 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20863
Location: 07438
Work group name the same or different? Is your firewall not fully trusting that domain?
Does the other domain recognize you as authorized to enter (permissions set)?
Use the "add a network" feature.
Security blocks to other network connections has changed since Win XP. More secure, more permissions.
"You need a blue key card to open this"! :lol:

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2016 5:26 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
some info here:
http://www.unawave.de/installation/down ... ml?lang=EN
http://www.sevenforums.com/installation ... lling.html

more here:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 83101#tabs

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 1:18 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
thanks evasive, the problem is that Ultimate says that it´s not designed to join a domain!!

I´ll check the links u sent

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 4:17 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20863
Location: 07438
Win 7 Ultimate can indeed join a domain.. as long as the DNS is registered and accepted.
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 090?auth=1
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... cdb?auth=1
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... =windows-7

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 5:39 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1970
Location: UK / Singapore
I've used Ultimate on domains, Ultimate can do everything that pro can and has additional features that pro does not have such as bitlocker, multi language, UNIX subsystem, etc. The only difference between win7 Ultimate and win7 Enterprise it that the former is OEM/retail licence and the latter volume licencing only.

_________________
I have now left the Building :tongue8:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group