The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Laptop wireless Adaptor
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:06 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 1:01 am
Posts: 4410
Location: Saint Augustine Florida
I have a Compal JHL90 laptop that is 7 years old and still works good except Windows 10 64 bit will not work on it because of some of the installed hardware. The CPU is 64 bit ready and will work. The Intel 5100 wi fi link is not compatible according to Intel. Where is this wi fi adaptor located in this JHL90 laptop and can it be replaced with something that will be compatible with Windows 10 64 bit. I am wondering what other hardware might not be compatible with Windows 10 64 bit.

I really would like to keep this laptop if it wouldn't be a big deal upgrading what ever needed to be upgraded, drivers included. I looked on Compals website and see no drivers available for this model PC and Sager has no information on it any longer.

The wi fi adaptor is my first concern because with out it the PC is useless to me. I have a brand new unopened CD with Windows 10 Pro 64 bit with the COA and don't want to ruin it on something that will not fly.

_________________
“Respect cannot be learned, purchased or acquired - it can only be earned” "Pay It Forward"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:29 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
That laptop is part of the Sager family?
Normally, the Wifi antenna is wrapped around the screen in the lid.
A quick search turned up this link showing the antenna and interface units..
http://www.ebay.com/itm/OEM-15-4-INTERN ... 235797ffc3
Should be easy to find, on opening the case.
But maybe hound Sager about drivers for the feature first?
Then there is this..
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/insi ... a37?auth=1
http://www.driverstools.com/sager-drive ... -xp-vista/

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:13 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17142
Location: England
Two ways to do this, the WIFI card is either under the large access cover or the small one next to the hard drive access case. You can simply replace the old card with a new compatible one (I recommend getting one that supports wifi AC). The antennae won't need replacing. The other option is to get a USB one.

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:55 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 1:01 am
Posts: 4410
Location: Saint Augustine Florida
Karlsweldt wrote:
That laptop is part of the Sager family?
Normally, the Wifi antenna is wrapped around the screen in the lid.
A quick search turned up this link showing the antenna and interface units..
http://www.ebay.com/itm/OEM-15-4-INTERN ... 235797ffc3
Should be easy to find, on opening the case.
But maybe hound Sager about drivers for the feature first?
Then there is this..
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/insi ... a37?auth=1
http://www.driverstools.com/sager-drive ... -xp-vista/


This issue is happening not in wi fi mode. The laptop is connected to the router via Ethernet cable.

_________________
“Respect cannot be learned, purchased or acquired - it can only be earned” "Pay It Forward"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:57 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 1:01 am
Posts: 4410
Location: Saint Augustine Florida
Mr T wrote:
Two ways to do this, the WIFI card is either under the large access cover or the small one next to the hard drive access case. You can simply replace the old card with a new compatible one (I recommend getting one that supports wifi AC). The antennae won't need replacing. The other option is to get a USB one.


This problem is happening when the laptop is connected to the router by a Ethernet cable. Wi Fi is not being used.

_________________
“Respect cannot be learned, purchased or acquired - it can only be earned” "Pay It Forward"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 1:14 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 1:01 am
Posts: 4410
Location: Saint Augustine Florida
Mr T wrote:
Two ways to do this, the WIFI card is either under the large access cover or the small one next to the hard drive access case. You can simply replace the old card with a new compatible one (I recommend getting one that supports wifi AC). The antennae won't need replacing. The other option is to get a USB one.


Hi,

The wi fi card is AC 7260 AC+BT what ever that is. This is a brand new laptop with the upgraded wi fi card ???

The laptop is connected to the wireless router via an Ethernet cable. So I guess the antenna should not have anything to do with this? Oh just thought of something. The original screen was changed by Sager and replaced with a IPS screen I think it was. I am not using the computer on wi fi.

_________________
“Respect cannot be learned, purchased or acquired - it can only be earned” "Pay It Forward"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 8:09 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1970
Location: UK / Singapore
From reading your first post it looked like you wanted to switch out your WiFi card to one which has driver support for Windows 7 64bit. From reading your last two posts it would appear you have some kind of other problem you would like to fix, but it is not clear what that is - maybe something to do with no network connectivity after installing windows 10 64bit?

If you haven't installed win10 yet and want to check what hardware is or is not compatible then microsoft's official tool would be a good place to start https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3035583

Bear in mind if you have only 2GB ram then win10 32bit is probably a better option - it has smaller install size and runs quicker on systems with 2GB ram.

_________________
I have now left the Building :tongue8:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group