want to upgrade my windows vista 32 bit hp oem to retail vis

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

want to upgrade my windows vista 32 bit hp oem to retail vis

Postby gloege » Sun Apr 26, 2015 2:55 pm

hay was wondering if i clean install to a ssd, not the hdd type that had the old oem vista 32 bit will it take retail windows vista 64 bit. plus this is retail will my hp oem license work on this. i have had 2 motherboard upgrades, so this motherboard is tied to the oem license so far. cause i so badly want to upgrade to a ssd any answers? they are both home premium additions. just the original is 32 bit oem, the other is retail.
gloege
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:30 am

Re: want to upgrade my windows vista 32 bit hp oem to retail

Postby Karlsweldt » Sun Apr 26, 2015 3:28 pm

You can upgrade to a 64-bit OS type only if the CPU and motherboard are compatible to that version.
Specific motherboard drivers for a 64-bit OS are also needed.
But should be easy enough to clone your hard drive to an SSD.
If the BIOS has the AHCI feature, should be doable.
As to licensing, each OS issue has its own unique COA. A new COA and activation is a certainty.
Microsoft Corp.® registers each COA activated.
Once used, only if for reactivation of that original OS install can it be reused.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: want to upgrade my windows vista 32 bit hp oem to retail

Postby gloege » Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:39 am

Well I gave my 32 bit code to a 64 bit os a try on a hdd and it took. So in terms it activated. Bought me a mishkin 480 gb ssd and gskill 8gb set so I can do tbis right. So glad it worked now I can play 64 bit games. If it won't work on ssd I will just clone the hdd to ssd it is already activated
gloege
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:30 am

Re: want to upgrade my windows vista 32 bit hp oem to retail

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Apr 29, 2015 6:11 am

This applies generally to any OS version..
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... =windows-7
The OS install may have defaulted to 32-bit, if the CPU and motherboard chipsets/features are not compatible.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/946765
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438


Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests