The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2015 3:41 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:30 am
Posts: 24
how would i go by making a recovery partition on my hard drive from scratch or within windows itself?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2015 3:50 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
Some more info on the system would help.
If your hard drive has sufficient space for a 'recovery' partition, then a program such as Partition Magic or Acronis Partition Expert could resize the main partition and create enough space for a 'recovery' drive.
But first a defrag of the hard drive would be required, to ensure no data is in the area where a new drive would be.
Then using the Windows Disk Management, do a format and then backup data as desired.
A bootable optical disk or flash drive would be required, if the resident OS cannot boot itself.
For a laptop, normally only space for one hard drive. But if a regular system, best to get another identical hard drive and use that for a backup as needed, daily or weekly. Best if it were bootable on its own.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:11 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
What do U mean for recovery partition?

something similar to the ones that some laptops have that allow you to recreate ur system to its original state if the OS get corrupted?

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:24 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:30 am
Posts: 24
Yes thanks but how much space would I need to do this with windows vista 64 bit home premium and how would I go by doing it? Would I do it at os install?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 5:46 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
I didnĀ“t test it yet but think may help U

http://dottech.org/163735/how-to-create ... 8-1-guide/

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group