A Way To Get Ralink Software To Remember?

Moderator: The Mod Squad

A Way To Get Ralink Software To Remember?

Postby OneSpirit » Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:27 am

As you all know I'm new to the wireless network game. I have Ralink software with a Orafy USB 802.IIN adapter. Every time I boot up I have to open the Ralink config and have it search for my network then I have to sign in.

Some times when I have it look for my network I get an empty "Available Networks" box ... and the only way to get it to show my network again is to disconnect and reconnect the USB adapter. How do I tell it to remember the connection so I don't have to sign in every time I boot up?

The closest thing I found to doing it was in the "Profile List" It asked about "Use Pre-logon Connection" and I checked the box, but when I booted up again I lost my network and had to unplug and replug the USB adapter in order to get it back. I had to go through signing in again to get access.

So is there a way to get it to remember ... so far I can't find it. :?
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: A Way To Get Ralink Software To Remember?

Postby Karlsweldt » Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:32 am

Is the "legacy" USB feature enabled in the BIOS? May be required.
Found only one worthy link about not finding a network setup. Maybe a revised driver is needed?
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/soft ... b-111691-1
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: A Way To Get Ralink Software To Remember?

Postby OneSpirit » Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:52 am

The legacy for the USB is enable in the BIOS and the link seems to be just for windows 8 .... I'm using XP Pro :?
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: A Way To Get Ralink Software To Remember?

Postby Karlsweldt » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:02 pm

Driver installation or update should be similar for all OS versions. But knowing M$..
Try this link, covers almost all OS versions..
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/soft ... b-111704-1
Found this link, notes problems with a Nintendo.. but could be similar for any device..
https://answers.yahoo.com/question/inde ... 154AAJYN8j
It notes there should be a network address on a label on the unit somewhere. If not found, use the command prompt window to note any LAN IP addresses.. (Run > type cmd then in the window, type ipconfig/all and any attached network addresses will be shown. When done with the window, just type exit to close.
Have you tried a reset process on the device, as the last link suggests?

One problem with wireless setups is that they are very subject to reflected signals and override from similar nearby units.
Plus they have to share a frequency band with other devices such as cell phones and remote controls.
Being at the rear of a computer is not a good place for a USB wireless head. Best is at least 2 ft. away from the case and any reflective metallic surfaces or major power lines.

You should have only one wireless "menu" box. Having two may cause conflict with duplication of services.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: A Way To Get Ralink Software To Remember?

Postby evasive » Tue Feb 17, 2015 11:35 pm

This can be a conflict between the Ralink config utility and windows own automatic wireless network configuration service. Here is how you activate that one:
https://www.microsoft.com/resources/doc ... x?mfr=true

It means disabling the Ralink config tool, most likely that is in your startup items in the start menu or in the registry under HKLM\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\run

It's even possible you can unset it to run at startup from inside the ralink config tool.

It's been a while since I messed with Ralink stuff under XP so this is all from distant memory
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: A Way To Get Ralink Software To Remember?

Postby OneSpirit » Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:20 am

I have no idea what happen, but now when I boot up I'm connected. I was trying to hook up the way I always do with Ralink, there was nothing in the box so I disconnect then reconnect the USB adapter when it does that. Got the box with my network, signed in and everything, but no connection. There was a message in the system tray about connecting ... I clicked on it something in Windows open stated if found a network and to click the connect button. After that when I boot up I have a connection. I did nothing, every thing I changed ... I changed back ... so I don't know why it is working. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: A Way To Get Ralink Software To Remember?

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Feb 23, 2015 5:39 pm

USB ports are "addressed" similar to how device card slots and serial ports are addressed. Change a device to a different port than original, and the OS may lose its association.
The address of a USB port is a "container ID" assignment than a 'slot' assignment.
Removing and reinserting the device in the same USB port while the OS is active can trigger a "new hardware found" and activate it. Windows 7 is more automatic in detection/activation than Win XP.
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... 85%29.aspx
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: A Way To Get Ralink Software To Remember?

Postby evasive » Wed Feb 25, 2015 4:23 am

OneSpirit wrote: I did nothing, every thing I changed ... I changed back ... so I don't know why it is working. :-|


You made the windows wireless wizard find your adapter so it can set it for you on bootup. Not how i was expecting you to do that, but you made it happen. This was exactly what i wanted you to do.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests