The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:36 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 2:26 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
My ISP speed is 100 Mbps ... I have just purchase this used router but I am told it will not suit my needs even though I see no difference from my old wired router I just switch out. I've had it for years, and I decided to get a used less than $10 wireless router, because the cable to my computer in another room plastic coating is cracking and exposing the small wires. I know absolutely nothing about wireless internet ... and I don't understand why the wireless routers have ports in the back for cable connection. So they can be connected with wires or not? So what kind of economical wireless router would I need and what kind of adapter is needed to make the other PC able to connect to the router? Thanks for reading my post. :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 4:53 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
"Hard" wire ports such as LAN or RF cable are for interconnections with a system. Such as a computer or server, or CATV provider. The wireless hubs use the 2.4 GHz UHF and 5 GHz frequency bands.. but not at the same time. The 2.4 GHz units have 3 channels, the 5 GHz units have 23 channels. http://kb.linksys.com/Linksys/ukp.aspx? ... leid=17415
Those frequencies are shared by cell phones and other wireless devices.
If noted that the new unit is 'not compatible' that may be due to a different frequency band.
Quote:
because the cable to my computer in another room plastic coating is cracking and exposing the small wires

Is this the LAN network cable? Should be easy and cheap to replace. For LAN cables with short runs (less than 50 feet) use standard Cat5e. For use near power wires and other interference, use Cat5e plenum cable, which is shielded.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 5:45 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Yep it is a LAN cable ... yes ... I've been able to find 50ft cable for $5, but in time they all get the problem I described so I decided to go wireless. :-|

I was wondering if you could give me a couple of examples of routers that would be economical and suit my need ... I watch a lot of videos and I do mulitplayer in my flight sim. Something aimed toward that. :twisted:

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:13 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
You need to find a 802.11g router or better. This is the 802.11g variant of what you bought:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/ ... ition=used

802.11n would be giving you the 100Mbit/sec throughput possibility you had with your wired router.
http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-WRT300N-W ... 444&sr=1-5

On the computer side you need to use a wireless add-in card.
http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-Wireless- ... less+cards

Why you need wired connections on the computer side: initially you will need to setup the wireless network, if not yet setup, how are you going to connect to it?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:40 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Thanks for the links ... I've been checking around ... what about a dual router ... which one of

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Productco ... 33-704-150^33-704-150-TS%2C33-704-144^33-704-144-TS&percm=33-704-150%3A%24%24%24%2441%24%24%24%3B33-704-144%3A%24%24%24%2441%24%24%24

those routers would best get the speed like a wired connection?
It is not doing the link right but hopefully you can see it. (You have to copy and paste the whole address to see them.) What do you think of the ones in the link? What's the difference with the 1X 10/100 and 1x 10/100/1000M? Would it be better with one of these or the ones evasive posted? :? Which is best for an uninterrupted wired speed connection? Thanks for reading my post.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:43 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
This .... http://www.ebay.com/itm/391028726203?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT ...
Is what I purchase ... will it do? :?

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 2:27 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Yes.

Did you buy the wireless add-in card for the computer yet?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 3:12 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Yes I did ... I just got it today ...
This is what I got ... but because my internet speed is so slow 2.0Mbps ... the first wireless router and adapter I got for under $14 is as fast as the wire connection. My only problem is I can't find the setting that tells the adapter to remember so I don't have to go through finding my network putting in my password and so on.

I'm out $38 bucks for the faster router and adapter, but I will keep it as a back up or through some miracle I get faster internet service. :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 1:22 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 335
Your 100Mbps is network speed, not ISP. Hook up straight to the 'modem' and run a Speedtest, then check your ISP for what speed you're paying for. B get you 11Mbps max. Some routers have settings which limit speed. Routers have CAT ports because they don't share bandwidth with the wireless.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group