Problem upgrading a graphics card

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Problem upgrading a graphics card

Postby punkieys17 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:52 am

Dont laugh, I'm a dad with too many kids all wanting to play games. I'm trying to upgrade an ASUS P5ND2-SLI motherboard runnin a 3.2 GHZ Pentium 4 with 3GB RAM. It had 2 6600 based graphics cards (only one being used) and have bought a used Powecolor Hd 6850 card. Removed the old drivers, installed the new hardware and no display at all. Tried both the HDMI and DVI outputs. The bios settings are set to auto for things like the PEG (an on board SLI from what I understand). I went into the ASUS support site and my bios version (701) appears to be the latest version. However in the FAQs there is a note on no dispaly using another graphics card (an ATI EH3870X" not an HD 6850) suggesting an upgrade to a bios version of 1107 or later.
Can ayone suggest what I'm doing wrong on the graphics card installation please?
Is the bios in need of an upgrade - if so where do i find a version 1107 or higher as its not listed in ASUS' own page for the motherboard model downloads.
By the way I will need help on the bios upgrade if necessary but I'll read the forums before asking if thats whats required.
Any help greatly appreciated.
punkieys17
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:33 am

Re: Problem upgrading a graphics card

Postby Karlsweldt » Sun Jan 25, 2015 5:59 pm

That video card has a power socket on the inner edge. May be a single 4-pin, or a 6-pin.. or two 4-pin or 6-pin. Or a 6-pin plus 2. The PSU should be at least 600 watts or higher, having the lead set to mate to that power socket. If the lead set is not present, New Egg ( www.newegg.com/ ) does have adapter lead sets, using two Molex to one six-pin.

My F@H rig was using a BFG GTX280, it had dual 6-pin power sockets. The card failed, so now using an EVGA GTX460.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20662
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Problem upgrading a graphics card

Postby evasive » Mon Jan 26, 2015 3:04 am

We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Problem upgrading a graphics card

Postby Roach412 » Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:19 am

any beeps? is the board speaker working?

i'd expect a long single beep on a board with a un-powered GPU.

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Re: Problem upgrading a graphics card

Postby punkieys17 » Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:30 am

I did connect the additional power connector, indeed my son and I tries both 6 pin connectors available from the PSU.

The board gives thress beeps from memory - pretty sure it wasnt a single beep.

The fan on the GPU is running.
punkieys17
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:33 am

Re: Problem upgrading a graphics card

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Jan 26, 2015 5:27 pm

Found a link for a user's manual in PDF format.. http://www.power-color.com/Manual/09010 ... es_ENG.pdf
No mention if there is a power LED on the back (port side) of the card.. but from seeing several images, looks like there is one by the HDMI port. If it lights green, all is good. If red, troubles.
The card when used as a single must be in the primary PCI-E video slot. Check the BIOS pages to ensure that slot is the only active one, not as a primary with a secondary.
From other searches, the card requires near 130 watts of +12 volt power.
For start-up error beeps, typically "no memory" would be one or several long beeps.
For video card/memory not found, the beep code should be one long and three short.

Just not excited about it being "used". Was there a warranty on it?
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20662
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests