The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:46 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:21 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:16 am
Posts: 3
Looking for data on this motherboard. Wouldn't mind drivers either


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:29 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
http://www.elhvb.com/mobokive/Archive/Tekram/index.html

Manual and BIOS.. Considering it's a Slot 1 board, not even worth the effort since Windows XP/Vista/2000 are obsolete now...

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:20 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:16 am
Posts: 3
Thanks, I'll use it for Windows ME


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 5:33 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
Win ME is considered totally obsolete (abandoned). So too Win 2000. Win XP should work decently on it, and you can still get drivers and other programming that honors the OS version. Win XP has reached the end of its extended support life. Win Vista is still "alive" but on extended support.
Depending on BIOS date, you may have a problem finding a 'small' hard drive that is accessible by the BIOS. If the BIOS limit is 20 GB, create a 15 GB or so primary partition, and the extended partition can have larger capacity drives (D, E, F).
You may have to use a 40-wire data ribbon on the IDE port. An 80-wire data ribbon may not work.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:32 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:16 am
Posts: 3
I am prepared, and have the necessary hardware. This is for old software/hardware
that I need to use.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:46 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
As long as you make sure to NEVER connect that thing to anything remotely connected to the internet, strictly standalone. It is fun to see hardware that old resurrected though. Let us know if you need help after this.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:29 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
Win ME was a "strange child" from MS. If you wanted to find help on any topic or feature, it would want to connect to the MS site. It was in reality a hybrid of Win NT/98, and could be set up in either FAT32 or NTFS format.
If you want to run older programming that needs a command-prompt mode, consider Win 98SE. It is the 'last of the breed' to still have a true command-prompt mode. FAT 32 is its default. Win XP could run in either FAT32 or NTFS format.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:48 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
Well, I still have an ancient ASUS P2B Slot 1 MOBO that i uses for recreacional purposes, it has 512 MB RAM a PII 355 MHz CPU, it´s equiped with two 13.8 GB HDD and two DVD Players together with an ATI All In-Wonder 8 MB AGP 2.0 Graphic Card.

it´s has dual booth Windows 98SE/2000.

I use it for watching TV, play movies and old games, for email also via modem and telephone line.

What do U tinhk?

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2014 4:56 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
Hey.. some of the older systems will run forever! If it still works, great.
I have an old Intel Slot 1 mobo also, in a Creative Blaster tower. 600 MHz, P III with 512 megs PC 133 and Win 98SE.
Strictly for old command-prompt games Has been in use since 2001! Has a 40 GB IDE hard drive, 4 partitions.
Also have an ancient Acer 710 XT system. A bit balky, but still works. DOS 5.0 on it.
Also have an AT&T Globalyst 730 server with dual P II @233 CPUs.
Still has NT 4.0 on it. 128 megs registered RAM. 2 x 4GB drives, 2 GB tape and 8x CD. All SCSI!
Hate to list a lot of other "oddities" that I have collected.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:16 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
WOW! Karl, U have a complete museum, amazing!

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group