Need a mobo for my existing hardware

Not sure what to buy? Ask here for some free advice.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Re: Need a mobo for my existing hardware

Postby Karlsweldt » Sun Oct 19, 2014 4:22 pm

Looked at your PSU link.. does not mention how many +12 volt rails are available. If only one or two, could cause problems with stability. This link might be of interest.. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ARTIC-BLUE-85 ... 1480845421
"Modular" design is higher in cost than "standard".
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20662
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Need a mobo for my existing hardware

Postby evasive » Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:17 pm

Every time I cannot find a brand's own website and it is listed all over amazon and ebay at some point in the near future it will simply stop working or blow up taking hte rest of the system with it. Could you do all of us a favour and spend a few tens more on a decent branded power supply please?

Anything Corsair or Seasonic?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Need a mobo for my existing hardware

Postby markirob1 » Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:35 am

:D :D :D Steady Edwin you may blow something yourself :D :D :D

Spend a few tens more is enough almost to replace it all anyway... :roll:

However i do agree there are lots of products on the market making big performance/reliability claims, but thats free enterprize. "REVIEWS" they help. You pays your money you takes your chance. :o
Last edited by markirob1 on Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
I took a look at it.. Its not broken now!!.. but its not fixed either!!!
markirob1
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:25 am
Location: Cleveleys N W England UK

Re: Need a mobo for my existing hardware

Postby markirob1 » Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:41 am

We live and learn by our mistakes lets not take the fun out of it. :-|.
I took a look at it.. Its not broken now!!.. but its not fixed either!!!
markirob1
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:25 am
Location: Cleveleys N W England UK

Re: Need a mobo for my existing hardware

Postby evasive » Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:52 pm

I have replaced too many motherboards and harddisks that had no backups to get p*ssed over this...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Need a mobo for my existing hardware

Postby markirob1 » Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:02 pm

I have replaced too many motherboards and harddisks that had no backups to get p*ssed over this...


OK OK... How about this? They have a website!

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEW-EZCOOL-85 ... 20eae62778

The price looks fair and no silly frills.
I took a look at it.. Its not broken now!!.. but its not fixed either!!!
markirob1
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:25 am
Location: Cleveleys N W England UK

Re: Need a mobo for my existing hardware

Postby evasive » Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:53 am

The price is high for a "Sun Pro" unit under that label.
Expected service life: 2 years maximum if loaded to more than 50% of rated capacity.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/pow ... 913-2.html

RANT
Let's go to their main website and see what "important" specifications they are showing on their power supplies:
http://www.ezcool.com.tw/products-detai ... 2565&c=650
"EZCOOL colorful box"
incidentally it is showing they are aka JSP-Tech.

I think the best thing we can do here is make a good guesstimate of how much watts you actually need and then buy a good QUALITY brand unit that has about 10% more than that. I have seen too many reviews of these flashy colorful firework boxes where they indeed blow up in sparks if loaded beyond 75% of their rated output.

RANT OFF
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Need a mobo for my existing hardware

Postby markirob1 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 12:51 pm

"EZCOOL colorful box"
incidentally it is showing they are aka JSP-Tech.

I think the best thing we can do here is make a good guesstimate of how much watts you actually need and then buy a good QUALITY brand unit that has about 10% more than that. I have seen too many reviews of these flashy colorful firework boxes where they indeed blow up in sparks if loaded beyond 75% of their rated output.

RANT OFF


OK ... Your Recommendation?

its getting to crazy this.! just need a psu ... was looking at a 450w i had above the pan cupboard .. Would of used it but it was a touch greeezy and has no SATA.! I think 700w is plenty. Seriously a sensibly priced Unit. Just a desktop not pushing any boundaries. :-|

NO RANT
I took a look at it.. Its not broken now!!.. but its not fixed either!!!
markirob1
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:25 am
Location: Cleveleys N W England UK

Re: Need a mobo for my existing hardware

Postby evasive » Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:29 am

this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6817151138

however I am having trouble finding an UK supplier selling this thing for a reasonable price. 90 quid is a bit too steep. Let's see...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Need a mobo for my existing hardware

Postby evasive » Sat Nov 29, 2014 12:19 am

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/700w-sil ... lus-bronze
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B008RJZR40/?tag=pcp0f-21

is more in your original price range. There are more of these out there. Whatever you think you are going to buy, please let us have a look first. Yes, it takes much more time this way but like I said, you will thank us later.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Previous

Return to Recommendations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest