Windows 10

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Windows 10

Postby Mark H » Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:05 pm

Might want to try it on some older hardware, and see if it runs.
http://techcrunch.com/2014/09/30/micros ... indows-10/
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Re: Windows 10

Postby Karlsweldt » Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:16 pm

Heard a news announcement about the "new" Windows version. Hope it isn't full of bloatware like some recent versions!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20686
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Windows 10

Postby Mark H » Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:15 pm

Definitely going to be fun playing with it. I last beta tested on XP. I want to see if it will run on the box I just upgraded from XP to 7. No idea as to minimum requirements. Tomorrow will tell.....
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Re: Windows 10

Postby evasive » Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:48 am

word is windows 10 will run on anything that runs windows 8. I think the biggest hurdles will be the security features needed in your CPU...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Windows 10

Postby Mark H » Thu Oct 02, 2014 4:25 am

The system requirements page says if running Vista, a clean install is needed. So, using my old Presario CQ-60, giving it a try. I'll edit/add to this when install finishes.

*Update*
Install went ok. Only item in device manager with an issue is the co-processor- no driver. Video is a little "jerky" when opening /closing windows, but that might be due to the age of the laptop and evaluation copy of Windows. Nice to have the Start menu back :)

*Update*
After setting up home network, and restarting, the above "jerky" video issue went away. Also, even though I chose clean install option, my existing desktop wallpaper stayed. For an older laptop, everything seems to work smoothly at this point. I'll do a few screenshots later.
Last edited by Mark H on Thu Oct 02, 2014 6:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Re: Windows 10

Postby Karlsweldt » Thu Oct 02, 2014 6:21 am

Too many base changes in the 'new' version of Windows, so a mandated clean, fresh install. But noted from a search that you could upgrade from Win 8 easily.
http://news.softpedia.com/news/Windows- ... 0576.shtml
Quote from above link: Minimal requirements..
Processor: 1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster with support for PAE, NX, and SSE2
· RAM: 1 gigabyte (GB) (32-bit) or 2 GB (64-bit)
· Hard disk space: 16 GB (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)
· Graphics card: Microsoft DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM driver


Only item in device manager with an issue is the co-processor- no driver.

That is an odd issue! Maybe resetting the BIOS and then configuring as to how the system is built may help.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20686
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Windows 10

Postby evasive » Thu Oct 02, 2014 6:51 am

Do you have the Intel or the AMD flavor of the CQ60?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Windows 10

Postby Mark H » Thu Oct 02, 2014 7:11 am

AMD Athlon Dual-Core QL-62 2Ghz
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Re: Windows 10

Postby evasive » Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:55 pm

I would send in a RFC to Microsoft about this. This is typically one of those loose ends in a new windows build. You have to admit that's quite an old CPU speaking in computer terms and chances are they did not include the processor codes in their list (yet).
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Windows 10

Postby Mark H » Sat Oct 04, 2014 4:04 pm

Bug report submitted. I have another, newer laptop running 8.1 my wife used for her accounting work. She doesn't do that work anymore, so I'll image the disk and separately back up business files, and go the upgrade route on that one. I'll leave all apps/programs, and see what happens.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Next

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests