The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 2:55 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:18 am
Posts: 166
Location: UK
I have recently acquired a PC with a fully activated copy of Windows XP. However, HDD Life indicates that the main hard drive is declining in health and efficiency and may soon need to be replaced. I would like to use Easeus Disk Copy 2.3 to clone the entire drive. However, I want to know, will Windows XP then revert to an unactivated status and require reactivating?

_________________
Tommy.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:12 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20861
Location: 07438
If just the hard drive is replaced, Win XP should have no issues with reactivation.
But the cloning program must do more than just clone all files to a new drive. The new drive has to be bootable. Any partitions on the old drive must also be replicated. If the new drive is larger, then partitions are resized accordingly.
Several programs available for this task. Acronis Migrate Easy® from http://www.acronis.com/en-us/homecomput ... nsfer-hdd/ is not expensive. More expensive is the Laplink Easy Transfer® program recommended by Microsoft®.. http://ww2.laplink.com/pcmover/pcmover_ppc/index.html
Hopefully, your program choice should do the complete job.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:39 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:18 am
Posts: 166
Location: UK
If I buy a larger hard drive and select "clone entire drive", then the entire source drive, complete with boot sector, will be replicated, but not resized. This means if I buy a 250GB drive, my existing 80GB drive will be cloned as a bootable 80GB partition on the 250GB drive, leaving 170GB unpartitioned and unformatted. However, Windows will determine that the drive is not the same make and has a different serial number. This is where I was most concerned.

_________________
Tommy.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 5:41 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17135
Location: England
Done this many times and windows won't need reactivating. I stopped using software cloning as it tied PC's up and was really slow.. used one of these

Image Cost around £30 and saves a load of time.

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 8:24 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20861
Location: 07438
If the cloning software is properly formulated, then if only one partition on an existing smaller drive, there will be an accordingly larger partition on the new, larger drive. Simply put, that 80 GB drive will now be a 250 GB drive.. as to your concern. Being a larger secondary drive, there may be acceptance problems to older BIOS versions as to cylinder count. But only if a stand-alone drive. If a hard drive has its primary partition within BIOS limits, secondary partitions on that drive can be larger than the BIOS limits. If it was not originally bootable, that will be the case of the replacement drive. Cloned exactly, to the last bit or byte. But larger in storage capacity.

Depending on the amount of data to be cloned, indeed it could take several hours to finish!
Mr. T does have a nice alternative.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 1:40 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:18 am
Posts: 166
Location: UK
With Easeus Disk Copy, the 80GB drive would clone as an 80GB bootable partition, the remainder of the new drive being available to format as a separate partition. It is slow yes but not too slow to be usable. I can start it cloning before I go to work then come home to find it ready to transfer.

_________________
Tommy.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:29 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20861
Location: 07438
In perusing both 'freeware' versions of the Easeus Disk Copy 2.3, no notation about auto-resizing of partitions.. only a 1:1 result. Sounds like a lot of work to clone that drive to another, with only the same amount of data space.
If you have salvaged all files available from that drive, backed up, why not just install the new drive in its host, do a quick format on it with the OS Disk Manager, and then transfer all backed-up data. Should go quickly.
Otherwise, do the clone process, and use Gparted or Partition Magic to enlarge that small partition to the entire drive.
http://gparted.sourceforge.net/
http://partition-magic.soft32.com/free-download/

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 2:32 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:18 am
Posts: 166
Location: UK
OK Karlsweldt, but you seem to be mixing up two separate threads here! My other thread is about a 500GB secondary drive in a Windows 2000 machine, this thread is about a newly acquired computer with Windows XP. The hard drive is at 55% health according to HDDLife, and for that reason I felt it would be safest to clone it soon before it fails. I wasn't sure if cloning would set the Windows installation back to unactivated.

_________________
Tommy.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:37 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20861
Location: 07438
Have done dozens of legit clones.. and no reactivation on the OS required. Only if major differences are found, with chipset type, features or some "new" device, would there possibly be need of a reactivation. Freeware programs may be good in their own right, but the purchased version has more features. I prefer Acronis Migrate Easy® for cloning.
Sorry if I "cross-threaded" your posts!
For that thread concerning the 80 GB drive and the 250 GB drive.. if the cloning software has been written properly, and the feature is available, then auto-resizing of the partition(s) would be done on a larger cloned drive.
Concerning that 500 GB drive on another system.. Windows 2000 is no longer honored by anti-virus and firewall programs.. or browser types. Might be different in some countries, but for the majority, obsolete. Win XP is on its way out also. No more extended support. Only the malicious software removal tool will be available.. but not for many months longer.
Reason being, thousands of point-of-sale OS types are XP-based.
If you want to clone that Win 2000 to a new drive, should be no problem. But if there is data in bad sectors, could extend the process by many hours. Been there, done that.
There are several excellent disk diagnostic programs.. the Seagate Seatools® is one, and should work any drive type or brand with no problem. Bad sectors, if not totally unreadable, can have their data moved to good ones.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 9:49 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
and, same as in the other thread, my answer is gparted because you can use that to resize the partition after cloning.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group