can i make a bootable clone with out the OS disks

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

can i make a bootable clone with out the OS disks

Postby gloege » Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:34 pm

i want to just make a perfect clone, making it bootable and it is too late i think to get the recovery disks. i do have a portion on the hard disk with windows vista so what are my options and no i want to keep windows vista
gloege
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:30 am

Postby evasive » Wed Jun 18, 2014 12:49 am

put both your current source harddisk and new separate target harddisk in a machine and boot that from a bootable cd/dvdwith something like gparted (there's other similar software too but this is free and works), make a 100% clone.

Anything else: forget it.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby gloege » Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:45 am

i have it all in a system just want to replace the hard drive that is very used and very old
gloege
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:30 am

Postby gloege » Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:48 am

will it make my new hard drive bootable
gloege
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:30 am

Postby gloege » Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:56 am

and one last thing if HP will give me the windows disks i need i will have them otherwise all i have is a partition copy on the hard drive so will i be able to boot the hdd without disks? :mb_dontknow::
gloege
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:30 am

Postby evasive » Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:21 am

walkthrough guide:
http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/gparted

Yes, the new drive will be bootable without using the disks from HP.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron