Bios Problem ???

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Bios Problem ???

Postby radbob » Mon Jun 16, 2014 4:06 pm

I have a Abit AB9 Quad GT mobo with windows xp sp2. This pc has not been used for 5 years. I got it running but, when it starts it go's thru the bios settings, the bios hangs up at detecting drives for about 3 minutes then it finish loading. When I go in my computer it shows the 2 hard drives and my floppy, but not the 2 cd/dvd drives. My bios version is 1.06.57. I thought I could find the updated bios to fix the problem, but I can not find it. I want to install windows 7 but I can't. I'm able to get in the bios to set it to boot from the cd drive, but it won't work. Any suggestions ?
radbob
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 2:59 pm

Postby Toby B. » Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:29 pm

No win7 drivers, and with an 8GB max RAM, the thing would be a bit on the sluggish side anyway..

time for a new build.
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby evasive » Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:00 pm

Most of the time Vista drivers will work but yeah, windows 7 is not officially supported:
http://abit.ws/page/en/motherboard/moth ... NFO=Driver

If you don't have the budget for a new build, at the very least change out the CR2032 3V lithium coin cell CMOS battery with a brand new one, that way the bios settings will be somewhat normal again.

Oh and ofcourse check all cabling and see if there's any bad capacitors in there in the Power Supply or on the motherboard

http://www.badcaps.net for more info on that
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Karlsweldt » Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:32 am

After maybe four or five years, the BIOS/CMOS battery is dead. Get a new one. Then do a reset to default for the BIOS pages, and then set each feature for how the system is built. Use the SPD factor for memory check and settings. Memory should be non-ECC type.
The Win 7 OS install disk is a multi-layer DVD.. won't work with a CD or older DVD drives!

For upgrade to Win 7 or Win 8, minimum needs:
1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
1 gigabyte (GB) RAM (32-bit) or 2 GB RAM (64-bit)
16 GB available hard disk space (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)
DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby bdub » Tue Jun 17, 2014 12:10 pm

pull off the floppy, and the extra hdd, and one of the two roms.
how much ram is in those 4 slots? check the single rom is jumpered master or cable select on its ide cable, and on the end of the cable.
what mode is the sata controller in, in the bios? typically there's IDE, AHCI, and RAID. prolly be best to be in AHCI.
if you can't get one of the ide roms working in this configuration, try the other.... are they both dead? can you switch out for another ide rom, or maybe a sata dvd rom?
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3657
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby radbob » Wed Jun 18, 2014 9:20 am

Thanks For The Help.
radbob
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 2:59 pm


Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: YandexBot [Bot] and 1 guest