Force Upgrade Intel D865GVHZ Board in Emachine OR change ID

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby evasive » Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:04 pm

You can see what worked for bsimecek, if you are brave enough to do the same, you can follow his steps. If you have no idea where to start, do not bother trying to go that route... Save some more money and get a new system...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby 1033ruben » Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:53 pm

yeah sure the string is cf94510j.15a.0028.2006.1213.1629 this is my current bios and the one i want to update wth is cf94510j.86a.0034.2006.0906
thanks in advance
ruben
1033ruben
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:26 pm

Postby 1033ruben » Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:58 pm

evasive wrote:You can see what worked for bsimecek, if you are brave enough to do the same, you can follow his steps. If you have no idea where to start, do not bother trying to go that route... Save some more money and get a new system...

yeah no i see what worked for him but the thinng is i have an idea of what i have to do but not sue about the freedos and i have tried burning the .bio to the cd but with no success
1033ruben
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:26 pm

Postby Karlsweldt » Thu Jun 05, 2014 5:26 am

Be it an optical drive, USB memory, hard drive or other.. it has to be bootable while in the BASIC stage of a pre-boot for access.
The BIOS update CD would need to be in ISO format.
The update BIOS file should be self-extracting to its own folder (or desktop) and then use the burn program for transfer to the optical disk. The BIOS update may or may not have bootable files. If needed, a boot process file can be gotten from www.bootdisk.com/ .
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby evasive » Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:24 am

ok, now I am clear on what you are trying to do: you need to use the recovery procedure for that board, you will indeed need to put the .bio files on something the board can recognize while in recovery mode. If all else fails, find an USB floppy drive, that does work too.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby 1033ruben » Thu Jun 05, 2014 1:05 pm

yeah no i got my floppy drives in today im going to be trying it later
i will post what happened
1033ruben
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:26 pm

Postby 1033ruben » Thu Jun 05, 2014 1:08 pm

evasive wrote:ok, now I am clear on what you are trying to do: you need to use the recovery procedure for that board, you will indeed need to put the .bio files on something the board can recognize while in recovery mode. If all else fails, find an USB floppy drive, that does work too.

yeah no i tried burning the .bio file to a cd but to no avail and ran the emergency recovery procedure but nothing happened so idk but i just got my floppy disks today so ima try and copy the .bio file to a disk and then run the emergency recovery and see if that works
1033ruben
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:26 pm

Postby evasive » Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:07 am

Ok, here's the deal, there is an 208 update for the 15A eMachines/Gateway version of this board from here:
www.mpcdrivers.com/sylvia/Support/gateway/9928853.exe

try that one first to see if it will give you the wanted support for the CPU that you are trying to fit.

Oh and no matter what bios, this is the absolute maximum the board can support in the first place:
http://www.intel.com/support/motherboar ... 026624.htm

Anything newer is NOT supported.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby 1033ruben » Fri Jun 06, 2014 5:07 am

well i tried to force flash my bios yesterday all to no avail itll read the bios off of the floppy right and then it will show the intel splash screen and show press f2 bios and then it will go into a black screen and say bios are not compatible or something to that affect and then it will give an error code and say the flash updating service has finished please restart your computer if a jumper was used replace the jumper


thanks evasive that bios actually worked i will check later today to see if the core 2 duo E6700 will work or not, thanks a million man i dont know where u got it from but am i sure glad u found it and i will be much happier if it supports the E6700 i saw the date of the bios is july11 2007 and the launch date of the E6700 is 03-06 so fingers crossed.
THANKS AGAIN
RUBEN
1033ruben
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:26 pm

Postby evasive » Fri Jun 06, 2014 5:25 am

you're welcome.

NOTE: the E6700 is not listed as being compatible, even with the latest Intel bios. So I would be surprised if it runs. If it does it will be at 2.0GHz'ish because this board supports maximum 80MHz FSB and the E6700 is a 1066MHz FSB. That is a hardware limit, no bios will fix that.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to BIOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests