The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 7:21 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 6
PC is 7 years old. Always worked fine with XP. Decided to install Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit. Microsoft's website said my PC should be OK for 7.

Formatted the drive during the install, but the problem is it will freeze constantly. Either while starting or just being online. The only other software installed now is Norton antivirus.

PC details:
Gigabyte EP35-DS3R motherboard
Intel E2200 Dual-core processor
250GB Seagate SATA HDD
7300GS video card (256MB)

The motherboard originally had 2 sticks of 1GB of RAM. I have removed those and installed 4 sticks for a total of 8GB (max allowed per Gigabyte). "My Computer" recognizes the 8GB.

Microsoft's support suggested the F8 key to access the "Repair your computer", but this did nothing. The arrow keys did not move the highlighted text, maybe it was frozen?

Looking for help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 2:02 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Windows 7 will give your system a slightly bigger load than XP. Sometimes this is enough to have components that were already marginal, fail. Please check your motherboard, video card and power supply for bad capacitors. To read what these are, see this website:

http://www.badcaps.net

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 5:05 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 6
Looked at the motherboard, and all the capacitors looked OK visually. All capacitors also had the same type of construction.

The video card capacitors were constructed similar to the ones in your pics on bad capacitors. There were two caps that appeared to have a slightly bulging top.

The PSU is a 450 watt ANTEC. How can those caps be looked at?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 6:02 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Quote:
The PSU is a 450 watt ANTEC. How can those caps be looked at?


Unplug the computer from the power source, and press the power button a few times to discharge remaining power in the PSU. Remove the side cover, and remove the
psu. Wait about 30 min (just to be sure, dangerous voltage is present inside)before removing psu cover. Look for bulging/leaking caps.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 6:42 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20862
Location: 07438
That board should have no problems with Win 7 64-bit. Did a Web search. But ensure the proper drivers for a 64-bit OS are used. Best source would be Gigabyte. Ensure the memory modules are a matched set, preferably 'premium' grade.
Capacitors only show bad signs in later stages of failing. Usually, the top will become domed.. or the rubber plug at the bottom swells. But internally, the failure has begun before external signs. Certain brands are most notorious.
The site www.badcaps.net/ has a hot link on its page noting most of the "bad" branded caps. If any are found on your board or other devices, the damage may already be done. Been there, been "bitten".
Yes, treat a PSU innards with great respect!!! Two large capacitors on the AC input side can store up to 350 volts DC (220 volt models). Deadly, if you get a shock across the heart. Good advise to wait, Mark H.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 12:43 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
If that is a "SmartPower" Antec then there is a good chance there's Fuhjyyu cr*p caps in there which spell Trouble...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 6:15 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 6
It is a "smart" model PSU, so I will try to look at those capacitors. But first I will update the drivers for the MB.

Thanks everyone for the suggestions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 6:37 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 6
Updated the MB drivers, no improvement!

Tried to also run some type of analyzer software while at the Gigabyte site, but it would not start properly. The site said something about active-x controls and IE 6.0 or greater. Windows 7 with the updates has me using IE 11.....

Do you think I should update the MB BIOS?

I did look at the Event Viewer and found many red errors. Here is a list of all of the event ID's, many were repeated in the past 10 days. Event ID # 4107, 11, 12, 10010, 1000, 7034, 7023, 20, 6008 and 1101.

I did use the link to view the ID descriptions, but have not acted on anything.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:34 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
I think BEFORE anything else, you should try a different known good power supply. Flashing your bios with an unstable power supply in your system is asking for trouble. Been there, done that.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:48 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 6
I will remove the PSU first and look at the capacitors.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group