Compaq Presario Recovery files

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby evasive » Sun May 25, 2014 12:19 am

OK, thanks for trying this, it looked like a decent one to me compared to some oif the other "offerings"
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Mark H » Mon May 26, 2014 6:22 am

Finally got the iso downloaded/burned/installed. Still won't activate. I get "The activation key provided is for another version......" message. Wasted time and money this time. Definitely, going to try for a refund. MIGHT try phone activation, but this late in service life, probably not worth the hassle.

Might take Mr T's advice and try SUSE.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Mr T » Mon May 26, 2014 8:52 am

What version of Vista does it say on the label.. And check the Compaq website to make sure it is 32 or 64bit!
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17087
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby Mark H » Mon May 26, 2014 10:59 am

I downloaded the 32 bit version. Still think it's a retail version instead of OEM.I did post again on H-P forums, and got a link to buy the "correct" version. Not sure it's worth it at this point.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Karlsweldt » Tue May 27, 2014 5:39 am

The recovery pack you got may not have been a 'generic' version (no embedded COA probable list to compare to). If the COA on the sticker of your unit is different from what was provided, then that error message. If the recovery pack had a COA tag, then use that data string.. not what was on your unit. If still having registration problems, contact the MS help desk. They are forgiving in most instances.
There were six versions of Win Vista.. from 'basic' to 'ultimate'. The COA tag info reflects the version category.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20663
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby Mark H » Tue May 27, 2014 7:13 am

I posted to the hp forum, and received a reply with a link to another restore site. This one actually has the restore kit for my specific machine. Ordered, and will let you know. If it
works, I'll try SUSE
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Mark H » Thu May 29, 2014 4:16 pm

Recovery disks arrived, restoring now. I'll edit this post when finished.....

*Update*
Restore completed with no issues, and automatically activated. Laptop is as new, including bloatware.

Recovery media purchased from Computer Surgeons. Only for H-P/Compaq.

Now I can play with Linux....
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Previous

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests