Possible Corruption With Vista Home?

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Possible Corruption With Vista Home?

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:42 am

Well sir ... I went to visit my mom yesterday and there was a computer sitting next to her door, turns out it was a neighbor computer and he ask me to look at it because he thought he had a virus. It is a Hp Pavillion with an AMD Phenom x4 cpu.... model:a6763w no video card ... looks like 4Gb of DDR2 6400 memory. Vista Home Premium ... Turns out the guy did nothing to update vista ... and his anti virus expired. I have tried to get into vista but I can't. Sometimes when I boot it up I don't get any video.:confused Sometimes the mouse won't work. Sometimes the keyboard won't respond. When it does boot up I can't get into windows. The password for admin doesn't work and when I try to go in as a guest I get an error.
Windows could not connect to the System Event Notification Service service. Please consult your system administrator


And that is as far as I can get ... I've tried to go into safemode and that is the message I get ... it really bothers me that I don't have video every boot ... something is up with that. Perhaps once the updates are done that could solve the problem, but for now ... I need a way to get into vista so I can do something to correct the issue.

Any ideas? :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Mr T » Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:18 am

Open case up, blow dust/cobwebs etc out.. Check that there are no bulging/leaking capacitors on the motherboard and psu (may need a torch). Reseat the RAM and any perpheral cards or cables. Reseat all the cables too. Leave the side off when booting and listen to any noisy clicks coming from the hard drive... Next step is the operating system.. In SAFE MODE, how full is the hard drive?
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17087
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby Roach412 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:28 pm

Mr T wrote:(may need a torch)


torch = flashlight

no flames required. :lol: :wink:

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

I knew that ...

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:35 pm

Mr T wrote:Open case up, blow dust/cobwebs etc out.. Check that there are no bulging/leaking capacitors on the motherboard and psu (may need a torch). Reseat the RAM and any perpheral cards or cables. Reseat all the cables too. Leave the side off when booting and listen to any noisy clicks coming from the hard drive... Next step is the operating system.. In SAFE MODE, how full is the hard drive?


I can't get into the system at all Mr T. I can only get as far as the log on screen in regular and safe mode ... It will not accept the password ... said it's wrong ... and will not go into window under guess. What I have done so far is tried the restore by hitting F11 ... got to the windows activation window, then the admin log on came up, and since the password doesn't work ... I can't get into windows. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

I knew that ... :)

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:37 pm

Roach412 wrote:
Mr T wrote:(may need a torch)


torch = flashlight

no flames required. :lol: :wink:

-Roach


Oh yes ... I knew that ... I lived in Great Britain for a few years and I watch a lot of foreign films. :lol: :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

New Problem ... need to reset password ... but can't

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Apr 17, 2014 2:19 pm

I am able to get into visa as a guest now after doing a recovery using the F11 key. The problem now is vista not accepting the password the owner supplied ... it will not allow me to make the corrections I need to make because I can't log on as admin ... I don't see anything in the user account that will help ... the only option I see are ... "change your picture" "Change your account name" "Change your account type" "Manage another account" "Turn User Account Control on or off" and of course to do any of this you have to be sign on as admin :roll: ... how do I get around this? :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

HP site refered me to this site ... didn't help though

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Apr 17, 2014 5:49 pm

I went to this website and downloaded the program ...

There was no instructions on how to make a bootable cd out of the files so I used nero and made a bootable data disk with it ... unfortunately it won't load the program ... don't have any idea why it just stops at the blinking cursor once the maker and copyright is displayed. Also the beginning of the program when it boot up isn't like it states at the site. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Update

Postby OneSpirit » Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:05 pm

Vista has done updates without me signing in as admin ... so far 55 updates ... with those updates it is behaving better, but I can't activate windows without signing on as admin ... I'm keeping it running to see if it will download and install more updates ... windows defender is working now. With my luck with computers once I get admin rights to activate windows the key provided by HP probably won't work. :roll: I also found out the dvd drive doesn't work ... so I had to use one of mine to run software with the drive. Always something. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Karlsweldt » Fri Apr 18, 2014 7:54 am

As to passwords and "cracking" or defeating them, that is a forbidden area on this and most other Forums! The owner of the system will provide the password(s) that he or she put there.. no other source. If those passwords do not work, it may be the wrong parsing of the password. Upper-case and lower-case password characters are quite different!!
If the password provided is likely correct, then try in all upper-case or all lower-case characters.. or capitalize the first character.
That is all the advice or help for this topic.
As to cleansing the drive, slave it in another system using the same OS platform.. and do a viral sweep, also a malware scan.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20662
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby OneSpirit » Fri Apr 18, 2014 9:58 am

I'm sorry ... I didn't realize this was considered cracking ... it is reasonable that people will forget, their password since the average user would have no need to go in under admin. I have never had this problem myself, but what is a user to do in this case? ... Are they simply sol?

I realize I am a guest here and have no desire to break the house rules. Surly there must be some legitimate way of correcting this situation?

Anyway the computer itself is running as it should now that the windows was allowed to do all the updates ... no more problems with the video, and considering the owner did NOTHING to update ANYTHING ... it's not surprising about the password situation.

I am shocked at so many people have no idea about these very important updates! Also not having any virus protection! Unfortunately they simply don't know any better ... he is lucky there isn't more damage with viruses. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Next

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest