The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:05 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Run the Windows 7 upgrade adviser to check compatibility. I found Windows 7 had all the drivers for my system.

If you have a spare hdd, try installing a distro of your choice to see boot times. Disconnect/remove your existing OS drive first.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:51 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
Should be no problem with your setup, BIGMAN131307.
For upgrade to Win 7 or Win 8, minimum needs:
1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
1 gigabyte (GB) RAM (32-bit) or 2 GB RAM (64-bit)
16 GB available hard disk space (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)
DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 4:45 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2335
Location: Capital District Area, NY
I'll need to try the upgrade advisor later.

ATM I redone all the distro ISO discs. I've had slightly ( * ) better luck this time

Kubuntu 13.10 (Disc menu loads, load screen, stalls at load)
Lubuntu 13.10 & Ubuntu 13.10 (Disc menu loads, loads, error)
Elementary OS (unknown keyword config/ No UI config error)
Linuxmint (unknown keyword config/ No UI config error)
PC Linux (Boot screen, Load screen, File system check / Input/Output)
openSUSE 13.1 KDE & Gnome (Load, menu, boot, stall at desktop load)
Debian Live 7.4 KDE & Gnome (Load, boot, error)
StartOS 5.1 Live (disc did nothing)
Mageria 4 Live DVD Gnome & KDE (Boot, Load, Error)
Zorin OS 6.4 & 8.1 (Boot, Load, Error)

Open Mandriva (Boot, Load, login prompts / settings, Desktop) ( * ) :)

FYI: I'm posting this message while checking out Open Mandriva. ATM it's nothing special. I would really like to test the others out.

What else do I need to do? I went from 64 to 32 bit versions. That helped a lot, but
there not loading completely.


Thx, :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:17 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
How new is your optical drive? May just need a lens cleaning for best reading of the data layer. The lens is polycarbonate, very attractive to dust and contaminants!
Even in a home where no one smokes, pollution in the air from cooking or outdoor sources can still collect on the laser lens.. and interfere with exact targeting of the data layer. One of those laser lens cleaner disks is easy and quick to use. But don't use any cleaning fluids that contain ammonia!! The lens can be discolored. An alternate is a long cotton swab stick, twirled gently over the lens.. if it can be accessed.
If the motherboard design is certified as x86, should be no problems with installing almost any 32-bit OS. But going with a 64-bit OS requires certification to x-64 standards. A 32-bit platform may find conflicts on an x64 design, but the design may default to x86. x86 and x64 differences:

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:38 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2335
Location: Capital District Area, NY
Karlsweldt wrote:
How new is your optical drive? May just need a lens cleaning for best reading of the data layer. The lens is polycarbonate, very attractive to dust and contaminants!


The external drive I'm using is about two years old. I'll give it a cleaning.

Karlsweldt wrote:
If the motherboard design is certified as x86, should be no problems with installing almost any 32-bit OS. But going with a 64-bit OS requires certification to x-64 standards.


I double checked my system and found it was only 32 bit. I used various online guides one being from Microsoft itself to check.
__________________________


Are any of the distros I am trying really good when running? Is there one there that a Windows user should enjoy using? Which ones have the
most used programs installed already?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:34 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
http://www.msi.com/product/mb/K8MM3V.html

Quote:
Features
- Automatically Detect the BIOS/Driver/VGA/Utility Update
- Support Microsoft Windows XP/Vista/7 32/64bit


Now there's your problem :P

Seriously, it says 64 bit is supported as well so any x64 Linux should run. However, unless I am reading wrong, you have not used any of the memory checkers on any of the linux CDs so far, right? Can you try that? Most of them have some sort of memory check tool as boot option.

Another thing might be the onboard VIA/S3 Unichrome not playing nice with any slightly modern linux distro. Looking into that too.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 4:45 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2335
Location: Capital District Area, NY
I gave a shot running Memtest on two of the distros.

Kubuntu 13.10 & Lubuntu 13.10

With Kubuntu 13.10 the disc seemed to load and the Kubuntu loading screen showed up. The flashing Kubuntu name, etc. That seemed to last for several minutes, while the drive kept reading the disc. But it stopped and nothing happened. :(

I tried with Lubuntu 13.10 and was able to run the MemTest. It took about 40 minutes, it passed with no errors. I was brought back to the main menu. Then I ran the disc error check. Unfortunately the disc seems to have errors with 38 files. :(

What would be the best way to correct this problem? New ISO downloads, and disc images? Best method to do it?

Is the Memtest needed for each distro disc?



__________________________________________________________
Sorry for all the questions, but I've been out of the Linux loop for a while.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 5:20 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17135
Location: England
Have you removed the ide cables and power cables from the internal ROM drives?

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:29 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2335
Location: Capital District Area, NY
Mr T wrote:
Have you removed the ide cables and power cables from the internal ROM drives?


Not yet, the internal DVD+/-RW works fine. The DVD-ROM drive is another
story. I've had some trouble with it before, last week it resurfaced. On the
day XP support ended the drive kept opening & closing. :?
_____________________________________________________________


I'd like to make sure the Linux ISO's I download are good. Is there a good free program I can run in Windows to check all the MD5 checksums?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:38 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=11533

There are many sources for this or similar programs to check the MD5 Checksum (Message Digest number 5). But safest to use the facility available directly from Microsoft®.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Qwantify [Crawler] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group