XP Pro Reboots Instead Of Shutdown

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Karlsweldt » Sun Mar 30, 2014 9:53 am

..it will not shutdown ... I have to kill the power..

Check the BIOS page relating to power usage.. should be a control line about "after loss of power" where a choice would be 'restart', 'last state' or 'stay off'. Choose the 'stay off' mode.
That reference to "Maybe BIN file size not match." could mean the program cannot match the true ROM file size, or it is the wrong version for the board. A BIOS chip normally had maybe 256k to 512k of ROM.. today, it could be 1 meg or maybe 2 megs. . with a possible default ROM cache for fail-safe BIOS recovery.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20660
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

BIOS Updated ... Still No Shutdown

Postby OneSpirit » Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:00 pm

I was trying to use the wrong file when I got that error I quoted in my last post. Once I hook the program up with the right file it updated. Very nice utility that is. Unfortunately it didn't solve the problem ... It still will not shutdown. PDT_Armataz_01_02
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

No Such Listing In BIOS

Postby OneSpirit » Sun Mar 30, 2014 8:37 pm

Karlsweldt wrote:Check the BIOS page relating to power usage.. should be a control line about "after loss of power" where a choice would be 'restart', 'last state' or 'stay off'. Choose the 'stay off' mode.


I don't have anything like that listed in the BIOS ... I was doing some reading up on this matter a found a statement that this problem is widespread and it could be something simple or something so complex that it can't be fixed ... I'm wondering about the complex issue that can't be solved. PDT_Armataz_01_03
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:51 am

Had a look at the owner's manual for that mobo. On page 29, there is a notation about "AC Back Function" where you do have the choice as to 'stay off' or 'power up'. On page 28 is the guide for setting ACPI features.. and powering off with the power button, or going to "sleep".
It may be a good thought to do a full reset of the BIOS to default, then redo each page as to how the system is set up.
Pull the power plug, try a few starts to drain PSU reserves. Then remove the CMOS battery, and set the jumper to 'clr' (**). Wait about 10 seconds, then set the jumper to 'nor' and put the battery back in, and power up to set the BIOS pages next.

(**) Most CMOS reset designs have a 3-pin header, #1 and #2 pins considered 'normal'. Pins #2 and #3 are for the 'reset'. Some designs may only have two pins, or two solder dots to bridge.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20660
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Still No Go

Postby OneSpirit » Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:21 pm

I tried that Karl and it didn't do anything. Could it be something with the mobo chipset or the bio chip that is causing this problem ... I would have thought those upgrade link evasive provided would work. I may be stuck with pulling the plug before it boots back up. :roll:
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby evasive » Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:52 am

What chipset drivers did you install and what website are they coming from?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Karlsweldt » Sun Apr 06, 2014 9:10 am

Win XP gives several choices for quitting a session. There is a choice 'menu' as to "shut down", "log off", "restart", and "hibernate".
Check that the proper field is in that choice box. And that the ACPI feature in the BIOS is active. If it worked properly before, the shut down process should still work. Only if there is a hardware failure (bad cap or chip), OS software incompatibility, or the BIOS update did not exactly match the mobo model, could the power interface control not work.
Instead of "pulling the plug", try holding in the power button for 5 seconds or longer the next time.
What chipset drivers did you install and what website are they coming from?

As evasive noted, you might not get a certified update version if from a source other than the original provider!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20660
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

When to the Gigabyte site for the drivers

Postby OneSpirit » Sun Apr 06, 2014 9:21 am

I got the driver from Gigabyte site. I downloaded the LAN driver and installed that. It was the only driver I installed. I didn't need the SATA/Raid/AHCI driver or the VGA or the Audio drivers so I didn't install them.

Holding the power button does not work it will reboot anyway. I contacted Gigabyte about the board and submitted a ticket ...hopefully they will have some info that may help end this problem. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Oops

Postby OneSpirit » Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:50 am

I was wrong Karl ... I can turn it off if I hold down the power button ... I just wasn't persistent enough when I held it down. It tried to reboot, but after a few seconds shut down. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:29 am

As long as certain on-board features are not used, and disabled, no need for those drivers! Good choice.
But the AHCI driver ( Advanced Host Controller Interface) may be required for proper interface to a hard drive.
The power button works three ways.. to turn on the system, and a one-second push should cause a "sleep" mode. But you have to hold the button in for a bit more than 5 seconds, for a "shut down" process. The power light will blink if in "sleep" mode, but goes out when totally shut down.
Hopefully, Gigabyte will have a solution to rid your setup of this problem.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20660
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

PreviousNext

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest