XP Pro Reboots Instead Of Shutdown

Discussions, problem solving, and tips and trick for operating systems go here. Windows, Mac, and Linux are ok. If you want to fight or put down an OS go to The Hundred Year War Forum. It will not be tolerated here. Make sure to post what OS is being discussed in the title of your post.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

XP Pro Reboots Instead Of Shutdown

Postby OneSpirit » Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:08 am

Well as you all know I went back to my old mobo. I just did a fresh install of Win XP Pro SP3 ... I have this mobo that seems to have this problem.

I was installing programs after the fresh install, the last was webshots and microsoft word, before it started rebooting instead of shutting down. I uninstalled those programs, but no change. I had this problem with this mobo before and I never address the issue ... I simply pulled the plug before it restarted. This was a totally different HHD the OS is on ... I have not installed the raid stuff for the mobo because I see no way to install it in the software I have.

There is no flash of blue screen or anything when it does this. It shuts down for a faction of a second ... the start to boot up again. I do have Comodo installed.

Now before I add any more program I want to find out what is causing this. I'm sure the mobo has something to do with it, because I have the same programs on three other computers with different mobo and never had this problem. If any one can help with this please post.

And evasive if you would be so kind as to change my second rig in my sig to FX8120 CPU with the board above and change the OS to XP Pro 32 bit ... I would appreciate it. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby evasive » Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:17 pm

Let me think... The 3 other rigs have what hardware specs? AMD/Intel/what chipset?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

It goes on and on ...

Postby OneSpirit » Fri Mar 28, 2014 3:10 pm

Okay one was the emachine .... It had the 3.8 cpu with the pny210 video card and 4G of memory.

Next is the new core i7 rig ... you have the specs on that in my sig ... and the other was the core i3 4330 @ 3.50Ghz with the GIGABYTE GA-H81M-S2PV mobo, that I just replace ... none of these had an issue with shutting down the i cores ran win7 but I had a dual boot of xp and 7 and both OS would reboot after shutdown with this gigabyte board I am using now with the AMD processor. All three had the same software installed. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby evasive » Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:42 am

So the troublemaker seems to be the AMD CPU as opposed to the Intel CPUs.

http://download.amd.com/techdownloads/A ... 320053.zip

Allows the system to automatically adjust the CPU speed, voltage and power combination to match the instantaneous user performance need. This package is a user friendly localized software installation of the driver designed for end-users. This driver supports AMD processors on Windows XP SP2 and Windows Server 2003 SP2 x86 and x64 Editions.
Released: 9/1/2007


http://download.amd.com/techdownloads/DCO_1.1.4.zip
The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer can help improve some PC gaming video performance by compensating for those applications that bypass the Windows API for timing by directly using the RDTSC (Read Time Stamp Counter) instruction. Applications that rely on RDTSC do not benefit from the logic in the operating system to properly account for the affect of power management mechanisms on the rate at which a processor core's Time Stamp Counter (TSC) is incremented. The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer helps to correct the resulting video performance effects or other incorrect timing effects that these applications may experience on dual-core processor systems, by periodically adjusting the core time-stamp-counters, so that they are synchronized.

This driver is for Windows XP only.
Released: 7/31/2008
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Karlsweldt » Sat Mar 29, 2014 5:10 am

The condition you describe may be a memory problem. Ensure the modules are compliant to the setup.. bus speed, timings, amount, and non-ECC. Also if in multi-channel setup, each channel has identical modules and amounts.
"Value" graded memory may work fine if the bus speed is right on, but if higher, paging faults can be frequent. Go with "premium" grade memory.
If using on-board video, that will require a dedicated memory allocation from main memory.. at the 'top' of the stack. Don't go beyond 25% max memory of the system for video aperture. More than 512 megs of reserved memory for on-board video will not improve the feature.
If using an add-in video card, set the video aperture to no more than 128 megs.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20687
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Nice Try But No Go

Postby OneSpirit » Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:50 am

Evasive ...
I installed those drivers, but unfortunately they didn't work ... I really thought you were on to something too. Bummer ... I'll try and do more research on the amd processor issue ... maybe you are on the right track?

Karl
I am using different memory than the first set up with the amd ... then I was using the ddr3 1333 8Gb ... now I am using 4Gb of 1600 ram ... it still would not shut down winxp or win7 on a dual boot then and now just XP is installed and it will not shutdown ... I have to kill the power. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Something I didn't Mention

Postby OneSpirit » Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:17 am

I don't know if this will be of any help, but when the computer sits idle and the screen saver comes on then the screen will go to sleep ... both xp and win 7 with the amd processor would shut down on it's own. :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

More Updates

Postby OneSpirit » Sat Mar 29, 2014 2:31 pm

You know what ... I tried updating the bios with the software provided at the mobo site,but it won't work. According to Belarc my bios is FB 08/26/2011 and the lastest at the site as you can see is FC2012/06/05. There are only 3 files when I unzip it and one is a flash application ... I click on it ... and briefly see a black box ... then nothing. Maybe this upgrade will help, but how do I get it to work? :-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Still working on flashing the bios

Postby OneSpirit » Sat Mar 29, 2014 5:57 pm

Instructions
I tried the program in the instructions, but it didn't work. I couldn't get an update from the server it stated the mobo was not listed and to go to the website for the file. I got the file and tried the update bios from file and got this message ...
Can not load ROM image from BIN file. Maybe BIN file size not match.
:-|
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Postby evasive » Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:32 am

Using the @Flash windows-based bios flasher?
http://www.gigabyte.com/MicroSite/121/tech_a_bios.htm

Since this windows install is fresh and clean I think we can risk it this time.

Follow the update bios without internet (update bios from file):
http://www.gigabyte.com/webpage/20/imag ... atbios.pdf
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests