The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 3:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 5:29 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well sir ... I did a closer look at the software that came with the card and found a Win7 folder. There was a setup app there and it installed the card ... I see it in the device manager now. I have sound now, but I still don't see my analog flight stick and throttle. There is nothing in the control panel about game controller, nor is it listed in the device manager and when I went into FS2004 the stick and throttle was not listed. So the computer sees the card now ... but not the gameport. What can I do about that? PDT_Armataz_01_03 :roll: :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 7:18 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
evasive wrote:
Let's try the reference drivers then from cmedia themself:
http://dl2.opendrivers.com/dl_file.php? ... r=0f12cf4e


I tried the driver at this link, but with the same results ... yes sound ... no gameport ... :? :-| I don't understand why the sound works and not the gameport ... I mean it is part of the sound card ... it should work too. PDT_Armataz_01_02

Update ....

I am seeing "HID-complaint game controller" listed in the device manager under "Human Interface Devices" when I right click on it, according to the DM the device is working properly ... so why doesn't FS2004 see it? Why can't I calibrate it? PDT_Armataz_01_03

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:58 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
I fear FS2004 is wanting something it can connect to directly e.g. the old DOS way directly to the port. That is not going to happen in windows 7 I think. let me try and find ANY reference of FS2004 running in windows 7...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:31 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Hmmmm normally it should work:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/ ... =Windows+7


I don't know that much about FS2004 but I can imagine you can set the input device somewhere? It may have a different name because you're no longer using the classic game port but a HID one?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 6:02 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20862
Location: 07438
Try this:
Choose "all programs" from the 'start' button. Then Administrative Tools. Then Computer Management, and then Device Manager. If the device is detected, it should be listed. For 'audio' or 'mice and other' devices, you can expand the field. Off to the right of the page, note "Actions". There is a line for "more actions" where you can view devices by assignment, IRQ/DMA, and also hidden devices.
Found links as to use of a joystick with Win 7, but all refer to having a USB port. For a MIDI/game port type, only off-beat forum blogs.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: It looks hopeless ...
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:11 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
evasive wrote:
Hmmmm normally it should work:


I don't know that much about FS2004 but I can imagine you can set the input device somewhere? It may have a different name because you're no longer using the classic game port but a HID one?


There is no way to set up the game controller because windows doesn't see it in the sound and gameport section in the DM. I believe it must be seen in that section.

I contacted the manufacturer of the card to see if I can get any answers from them ... I doubt it, but it is worth a try.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:13 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Karlsweldt wrote:
Try this:
Choose "all programs" from the 'start' button. Then Administrative Tools. Then Computer Management, and then Device Manager. If the device is detected, it should be listed. For 'audio' or 'mice and other' devices, you can expand the field. Off to the right of the page, note "Actions". There is a line for "more actions" where you can view devices by assignment, IRQ/DMA, and also hidden devices.
Found links as to use of a joystick with Win 7, but all refer to having a USB port. For a MIDI/game port type, only off-beat forum blogs.


I tried that ... I didn't see anything under "action" where there was a line for "more actions" I tried the legacy option, but that cause windows to crash. :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:25 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I found this web page that talk about a mod made for vista ... I wonder if it will work with win7 too. I tried to find more on the work of Daniel Kawakami, but I seem to be going around in circles. PDT_Armataz_01_02

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:57 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
If I can't find something to support that gameport I am going to have to go back to my FX8120 and that gigabyte board ... at least it will let me install XP and it is faster than the Core i3 4330. Instead of selling my old mobo ... I guess I will have to sell my new one. :roll:

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 4:51 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Well it is obvious there is no gameport support for Win7 64 ... and I saw this page a couple of weeks ago, but I couldn't seem to locate it again for some reason.

I'm going to try installing Win7 32 bit and see if these drivers will work in order to keep the new board and i3 processor, if not I will have no choice but to use my old mobo and install XP 32 bit. :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group